Auckland 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Auckland Open is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament and is the biggest men’s sporting event held in New Zealand. Currently, the title sponsor is Heineken and this tournament has been held since 1956. Auckland is held at the ASB Tennis Centre in New Zealand.

The 2011 Auckland Open event begins on January 8 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 15 January. The Auckland Open 2011 draw is a 28-player draw, which means ONLY the Top 4 seeds have a BYE in the 1st round. The draw contains 21 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards.

If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. To follow this site in real time on Twitter click-> @OnCourtAd. To join the friends of this site on Facebook click-> OnCourt Advantage.

The total financial commitment for the 2011 Auckland Open tournament is 450,000 US dollars and the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $398,250. The Auckland Open is played on blue Plexicushion hard courts (since 2008 to remain on the exact same surface as the Australian Open) and the Men’s Singles Final is played on the centre court which, has a seating capacity of 3,500.

The 2010 Auckland Men’s singles champion John ISNER is pictured above just as he is about to make contact with the ball during his service action. The 2.06m American defeated Arnaud Clement in the final 6-3, 5-7, 7-6 (7-2) in 2 hours and 19 minutes to win his first ATP singles title. The 25-year-old Isner set a number of records at Wimbledon 2010 including the serving the most aces in a single match with 114 aces.

Isner went on to record his best result at the Australian Open by making the round of 16, which equalled his career best result at a Grand Slam singles event. Isner made the round of 16 at the 2009 US Open and is a player on the rise, so watch him throughout January as he could feature prominently. Isner achieved his career high ranking of No.18 on 5 July 2010 and currently ranked No.19.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 250 points + $64,250;
  2. The runner-up earns 150 points + $33,780;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 90 points + $18,245;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 45 points + $10,450;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 20 points + $6,150;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $3,635 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

There is a 24-player qualifying draw, which means all of the Top 8 seeds have a BYE in the 1st round. The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn DO NOT earn any money and DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $290 but DO NOT earn any ranking points and the payers who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $600 and 6 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 12 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 12 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 20 points for making the round of 16 plus 12 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 32 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Auckland Open Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 8 January: Qualifying event at 10am;
  • Sunday 9 January: Qualifying event at 10am;
  • Monday 10 January: Main Draw 1st round at 11am;
  • Tuesday 11 January: 1st round at 11am;
  • Wednesday 12 January: Round of 16 at 11am;
  • Thursday 13 January: Quarter Finals from 11am;
  • Friday 14 January: Semi Finals at 1pm; and
  • Saturday 15 January: Men’s Singles Final at 3pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Keith Allison

Share this link!