Auckland 2013 Men’s Singles Draw

Tommy HaasThe 2013 Auckland Open main draw men’s singles matches will begin on Monday 7 January at 11am local time in Auckland, New Zealand. In this post a number of interesting facts about the men’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The men’s singles draw has a 28-player draw consisting of 4 Qualifiers, 3 Wildcards and 21 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore add 5 hours to the local time in Auckland.

Full details about how you can buy your Official Auckland Open tennis tickets and find all of the details you need to know are covered and continually added here-> Auckland Open 2013 includes, the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details.

The official main draw ceremony is being held on Saturday 5 January. The four qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 6 January. The full list of the men’s singles draw will be added here-> Auckland 2013 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP Tour rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 31 December 2012. There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals. In Auckland the Top 4 seeds all receive a BYE in the first round so only need to win one match before making the quarter finals.

If any of the seeded players withdraw after the draw has been made, then the 9th highest ranked player becomes a seed i.e. David GOFFIN, then the 10th player Benoit PAIRE and so on.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. David FERRER
  3. Tommy HAAS (pictured above)
  4. Sam QUERREY
  5. Jerzy JANOWICZ
  6. Jurgen MELZER
  7. Martin KLIZAN
  8. Thomaz BELLUCCI

The Wildcards:

The names of the wildcards must be removed from the participating players list in the qualifying singles event before the official qualifying draw commences. As soon as the three wildcards are announced their names will be listed here-> former World No.7 Gael MONFILS, 2012 Auckland singles runner-up Olivier ROCHUS and current No.378 and New Zealand’s No.2 Daniel KING-TURNER.

The Qualifiers:

The 32-player qualifying tournament will begin on Saturday 5 January. There are 8 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

Photo credit: mbevis

Share this link!

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Auckland Open Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Auckland 2013 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.