Auckland 2013 Women’s Singles Draw

Julia GoergesThe 2013 Auckland Open main draw women’s singles matches will begin on Monday 31 December at 12 noon local time in Auckland, New Zealand. In this post a number of interesting facts about the women’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The women’s singles draw has a 32-player draw consisting of 4 Qualifiers, 3 Wildcards and 25 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore add 5 hours to the local time in Auckland.

Full details about how you can buy your Official Auckland tennis tickets and find all of the details you need to know are covered and continually added here-> Auckland Open Tennis 2013, includes, the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details.

The official main draw ceremony is being held on Saturday 29 December. The four qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 30 December. The full list of the women’s singles draw will be added here-> Auckland 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest WTA rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 24 December 2012.

There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. Agnieszka RADWANSKA
  2. Julia GOERGES (pictured above)
  3. Yanina WICKMAYER
  4. ZHENG Jie
  5. Sorana CIRSTEA
  6. Yaroslava SHVEDOVA
  7. Christina MCHALE
  8. Mona BARTHEL

The Wildcards:

The three wildcards were awarded to WTA No.147 18-year-old Canadian Eugenie BOUCHARD, No.97 21-year-old Coco VANDEWEGHE of the USA and current No.100 Eleni DANIILIDOU from Greece who won back-to-back singles titles in Auckland in 2003-04.

The Qualifiers:

The 30-player qualifying tournament will begin on Saturday 29 December. There are 8 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

Photo credit: Christian Mesiano

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Auckland Open Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Auckland 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.