Bogotá 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Bogotá Open is a WTA International category tournament played on red clay courts from February 12-20. The 19th year of this event is being played at the Centro de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo de Coldeportes in Bogotá, Columbia. The official tournament name is the Copa BBVA Colsanitas due to title sponsorship naming rights.

The women’s event begins on Saturday February 12 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 20 at 10:30am. The Bogotá singles event has a 32-player draw that contains 25 direct acceptances, 4 Qualifiers and 3 Wild Cards.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. 

The total prize money for the 2011 Bogotá tournament is $220,000 US dollars. The centre court has a seating capacity of 2,800 and is called Cancha Central. There are 8 seeded players who are selected according to the WTA rankings as at 7 February 2011.

The 2010 Bogotá Women’s singles champion was the unseeded Mariana Duque Marino who defeated No.5 seed Angelique Kerber 6-4 6-3 in the final. The 21-year-old Duque Marino won delighted local fans by winning her first WTA singles title in her hometown. The 1.69m Columbian is back to defend her title this year.

Pictured above is the No.1 seed for the 2011 event 22-year-old Julia Goerges just as she is about to make contact with the ball for this forehand drive. The 1.8m German is currently ranked at her career-high ranking of No.34, which she first achieved on 31 January 2011 after achieving her best Grand Slam singles result to date at the 2011 Australian Open by making the 3rd round.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 280 points + $37,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 200 points + $$19,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 130 points + $10,200;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 70 points + $5,340;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 30 points + $2,950;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive 1 point + $1,725.

There is a 32-player qualifying draw. The 16 players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 1 ranking point and $265. The 8 players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 6 ranking points plus $460. The 4 players who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $860 and 10 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 16 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the one point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive just the one point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 16 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 30 points for making the round of 16 plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 earns 46 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Bogotá Open Women’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 12 February: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 10am;
  • Sunday 13 February: Qualifying 2nd round from 10am;
  • Monday 14 February: Qualifying final round from 10am;
  • Monday 14 February: Main Draw 1st round from 10am;
  • Tuesday 15 February: 1st round from 10am;
  • Wednesday 16 February: Round of 16 from 10am;
  • Thursday 17 February: Round of 16 from 10am;
  • Friday 18 February: Quarter Finals from 10am;
  • Saturday 19 February: Semi Finals from 10am; and
  • Sunday 20 February: Women’s Singles Final at 10:30am.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Robbie Mendelson

Share this link!


  1. hello..i would like to know what happened with j georges and han x and when they will play. i understood that they stopped because of the rain. what was the score when they stoped and who was serving? thank u very much

Comments are closed.