Brisbane 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Brisbane International is a WTA International category event kicking off the 2011 women’s professional tennis tour. Brisbane is the first tournament in the 2011 Australian Open series and is held at the Queensland Tennis Centre in Tennyson, Brisbane on blue Plexicushion Prestige hard courts.

The women’s event begins on December 31 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 8 January. The Brisbane International 2011 draw is a 32-player draw with 25 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards. The total prize money for the 2011 Brisbane International tournament is 220,000 US dollars. The centre court is called Pat Rafter Arena and has a seating capacity of 5,500.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for the official site.

The 2010 Brisbane Women’s singles champion Kim CLIJSTERS is pictured above at the 2010 US Open just after she has made contact with the ball with her double handed backhand drive. The 1.74m Clijsters defeated former World No.1 Justine Henin in the final 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 (8-6). The triple Grand Slam singles champion heads into the 2011 Australian Open as THE favourite after defending her US Open singles last year and winning the year-end WTA Tour Finals.

The 27-year-old Belgian is a former World No.1 and runner-up at the 2004 Australian Open. The current World No.3 has also made the semi finals on 4 occasions from her 8 trips to Melbourne. Clijsters will be heading the charge amongst players looking to win their first Australian Open singles title with just two former champions in the field, Henin in 2004 and Maria Sharapova in 2008.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 280 points + $37,o00;
  2. The runner-up earns 200 points + $19,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 130 points + $10,200;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 70 points + $5,340;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 30 points + $2,950;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $1,725 + 1 point.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $265 and 1 ranking point. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $460 and 6 ranking points. The players who lose in the final round of qualifying earn $860 and 10 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 16 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the 1 point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive 1 ranking point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 16 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 30 points for making the round of 16 plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 46 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Brisbane International Women’s Singles event is:

  • Friday 31 December: Qualifying event at 10:30am;
  • Saturday 1 January: Qualifying event at 10:30am;
  • Sunday 2 January: Main Draw 1st round at 10:30am;
  • Monday 3 January: 1st round at 10:30am & 7pm;
  • Tuesday 4 January: Round of 16 at 10:30am & 7pm;
  • Wednesday 5 January: Round of 16 from 10:30am & 7pm;
  • Thursday 6 January: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7pm;
  • Friday 7 January: Semi Finals from 12 noon & 7pm; and
  • Saturday 8 January: Women’s Singles Final at 12 noon.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Edwin Martinez1