Brisbane 2012 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2012 Brisbane International is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament that recommenced in Queensland in January 2009 as joint men’s and women’s tournament. Brisbane is the first tournament in the 2012 Australian Open series and is held at the Queensland Tennis Centre in Tennyson, Brisbane on blue Plexicushion Prestige hard courts. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 2 hours from the local times in Brisbane listed below.

The 2012 Brisbane International men’s event begins on December 31 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 8 January. The Brisbane 2012 draw is a 32-player draw with 25 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards. Click this link for details about how you can buy Brisbane International Official tennis tickets.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. The total financial commitment for the 2012 Brisbane tournament is $486,000 US dollars with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $434,250. The Men’s Singles Final is played on the centre court called Pat Rafter Arena, which has a seating capacity of 5,500.

The 2011 Brisbane International Men’s singles champion was Robin SODERLING who defeated the 2010 Brisbane champion Andy Roddick in the final 6-3, 7-5 in 1 hour and 35 minutes. Pictured above at the 2011 US Open is Andy MURRAY as he displays great positioning and focus during the forward swing phase of this forehand drive that he is attacking in the mid court.

The 1.9m Murray has chosen to play Brisbane for the first time this year in order to prepare in the same country and on the same surface as the Australian Open. The 24-year-old Murray has been the runner-up in the past two Australian Open singles finals. The Scot is obviously looking to change that result in 2012 to capture his first Grand Slam singles title on his favourite surface – hard courts.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 250 points + $74,370;
  2. The runner-up earns 150 points + $39,165;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 90 points + $21,215;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 45 points + $12,090;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 20 points + $7,120;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $4,220 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $345 but DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $720 but DO NOT earn any ranking points and 6 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 12 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 12 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 20 points for making the round of 16 plus 12 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 32 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2012 Brisbane International Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 31 December: Qualifying at 10am;
  • Sunday 1 January: Qualifying at 10am;
  • Monday 2 January: Main Draw 1st round at 10:30am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 3 January: 1st round at 10:30am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 4 January: Round of 16 from 10:30am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 5 January: Round of 16 from 10:30am and 7pm;
  • Friday 6 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 7 January: Semi Finals at 12 noon and 7pm; and
  • Sunday 8 January: Men’s Singles Final at 12 noon.

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: Richard van loon