Brisbane 2013 Men’s Singles Draw

Milos RaonicThe 2013 Brisbane International main draw men’s singles matches will begin on Monday 31 December at 10am local time in Brisbane, Queensland in Australia. In this post a number of interesting facts about the men’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The men’s singles draw has a 32-player draw consisting of 4 Qualifiers, 3 Wildcards and 25 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 2 hours to the local time in Brisbane.

Full details about how you can buy your Official Brisbane International tennis tickets and find all of the details you need to know are covered and continually added here-> Brisbane Open Tennis 2013, includes, the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details.

The official main draw ceremony is being held on Saturday 29 December from 10:30am in Centre Court, Ground Level at Westfield Carindale Shopping Centre. The four qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 30 December. The full list of the men’s singles draw will be added here-> Brisbane 2013 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP Tour rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 24 December 2012. There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals.

If any of the seeded players withdraw after the draw has been made, then the 9th highest ranked player becomes a seed i.e. Radek STEPANEK, then the 10th player Julien BENNETEAU and so on.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. Andy MURRAY
  2. Milos RAONIC (pictured above)
  3. Gilles SIMON
  4. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  6. Florian MAYER
  7. Jurgen MELZER
  8. Martin KLIZAN

The Wildcards:

The names of the wildcards must be removed from the participating players list in the qualifying singles event before the official qualifying draw commences. Former World No.1 and dual Grand Slam singles champion Lleyton HEWITT is playing Brisbane for the first time after receiving the first wildcard. Current No.326 Benjamin MITCHELL from Queensland received the second wildcard adding to the 2013 Australian Open wildcard the 20-year-old won. Once the remaining wildcard is announced he will be added here-> …

The Qualifiers:

The 32-player qualifying tournament will begin on Saturday 29 December. There are 8 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

Photo credit: mbevis

Share this link!

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Brisbane International Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Brisbane 2013 Men’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.