Brisbane 2013 Women’s Schedule of Play

8077576675_2f4974dd11The 2013 Brisbane Open is being played for the fifth time. To make it easier for YOU to follow, watch or attend this tournament OnCourt Advantage details how the WTA ranking points and prize money are allocated round-by-round plus what the schedule of play is for each day. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 2 hours from the local times in Brisbane listed below.

Further details, including how to buy tickets, “Like” and “Follow” Brisbane, the tournament venue, centre court name and capacity, the court surface, total prize money etc. are covered here-> Brisbane Open Tennis 2013.

The original cut-off ranking for direct acceptance in to the main draw singles event is WTA World No.46 Lucie Hradecka. The Top 8 highest ranked players entered at the cut-off date of 19 November 2012 comprises 8 of the Top 10: No.1 Victoria Azarenka, No.2 Maria Sharapova, No.3 Serena Williams, No.5 Angelique Kerber, No.6 Sara Errani, No.8 Petra Kvitova, No.9 Samantha Stosur and No.10 Caroline Wozniacki.

Pictured above is Brisbane No.1 seed Victoria AZARENKA in the forward swing phase of this double-handed backhand groundstroke during her tournament win at the 2012 Linz Open in Austria. The 22-year-old Belarusian returns to Brisbane for the first since winning the singles title in the inaugural year – 2009, motivated by the intensity of the battle for World No.1 with Sharapova and Serena. The 1.83m right-hander earned the World No.1 ranking for the first time by winning the 2012 Australian Open.

Brisbane was upgraded by the WTA to a Premier category tournament in 2012 with 655,00 in total prize money, which has been substantially increased again for 2013 to 1,000,000. Brisbane began as International category event in 2009 with 220,000 in total prize money.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 470 points + $162,987;
  2. The runner-up earns 320 points + $87,021;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 200 points + $46,487;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 120 points + $24,944;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 60 points + $13,393;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $7,299 + 1 ranking point.

*The points awarded to a 1st round loser vary according to how they were allocated a place in the 1st round.

The schedule of play for the 2013 Brisbane International Women’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 29 December: Qualifying at 10am;
  • Sunday 30 December: Qualifying at 10:30am;
  • Sunday 30 December: Main Draw 1st round at 11am;
  • Monday 31 December: 1st round at 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 1 January: 1st round at 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 2 January: Round of 16 from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 3 January: Round of 16 from 10:30am and 7:30pm;
  • Friday 4 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 5 January: Semi Finals at 12 noon; and
  • Sunday 6 January: Women’s Singles Final at 12 noon.

© photo credit: Ralf Reinecke

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Brisbane International Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.