Brisbane 2013 Women’s Singles Draw

Maria SharapovaThe 2013 Brisbane International main draw women’s singles matches will begin on Monday 31 December at 10:30am local time in Brisbane, Australia. In this post a number of interesting facts about the women’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The women’s singles draw has a 30-player draw consisting of 4 Qualifiers, 2 Wildcards and 24 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 2 hours to the local time in Brisbane.

Full details about how you can buy your Official Brisbane tennis tickets and find all of the details you need to know are covered and continually added here->  Brisbane Open Tennis 2013, includes, the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details.

The official main draw ceremony is being held on Saturday 29 December from 10:30am in Centre Court, Ground Level at Westfield Carindale Shopping Centre. The four qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 30 December. The full list of the women’s singles draw will be added here-> Brisbane 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest WTA rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 24 December 2012.

There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals. The Top 2 seeds have a BYE in the 1st round, thus only need to win one match to make the quarter finals.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. Victoria AZARENKA
  2. Maria SHARAPOVA (pictured above)
  3. Serena WILLIAMS
  4. Angelique KERBER
  5. Sara ERRANI
  6. Petra KVITOVA
  7. Samantha STOSUR
  8. Caroline WOZNIACKI

The Wildcards:

The two wildcards were awarded to Australians former WTA No.25 currently No.183 Jarmila GAJDOSOVA and current No.114 21-year-old Olivia ROGOWSKA.

The Qualifiers:

The 32-player qualifying tournament will begin on Friday 28 December. There are 8 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

Photo credit: mbevis

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Brisbane International Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Brisbane 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.