Buenos Aires 2011 Men’s Singles Draw

The 2011 Buenos Aires Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 14 February at 11am local time. There are 32 main draw spots divided up between 4 Qualifiers (Q), 3 Wild Cards (WC) and 25 Direct Acceptances. Buenos Aires is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament played from February 12-20.

The official name for Buenos Aires is the Copa Claro and it is being played at Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club in Argentina for the 11th year. The centre court has a seating capacity of 4,800 spectators and is a red clay court.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage

The total financial commitment for the 2011 tournament is $547,900, with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $475,300. The last direct acceptance into the draw was Joao Souza of Brazil who was ranked No.111 at the cut-off date.

The Seeds: In a 32-player sized draw there are 8 seeded players. This means that all of the 8 seeds are separated in the draw so they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents who are unseeded, before they can meet another seed in the quarter finals. The seeding for the Buenos Aires Open is allocated according to the latest ATP rankings BEFORE the draw is made. These latest rankings were released on Monday 7 February.

The 2011 Buenos Aires Open men’s singles seeds are:

1-Nicolas ALMAGRO, 2-Stanislas WAWRINKA, 3-David NALBANDIAN, 4-Albert MONTANES, 5-Juan MONACO, 6-Tommy ROBREDO, 7-Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV and 8-Juan Ignacio CHELA.

If a seeded players withdraws during the next few days before taking the court for their 1st round match OCA will update you of any new developments amongst the seeded players straight away. That seed would be replaced by the next highest ranked direct acceptance i.e. Potito STARACE.

The Wild Cards: All 3 wild cards were awarded to Argentineans: Federico DEL BONIS, Jose ACASUSO and Maximo GONZALEZ.

The Qualifiers: The 32-player qualifying tournament begins on Saturday 12 February and concludes on Monday 14 February. The qualifiers are Pablo GALDON and Juan Pablo BRZEZICKI both from Argentina and Albert RAMOS-VINOLAS and Ivan NAVARRO both from Spain.

The last Argentinean to win the Buenos Aires Open Men’s singles title was David Nalbandian in 2008. Nalbandian is pictured above just as he swinging towards the contact point between the ball and his racquet for his best stroke, the double-handed backhand drive. The No.3 seed this year in Buenos Aires has won 3 major titles (ATP Tour Finals in 2005, Paris Open and Madrid Open Masters 1000 titles both in 2007) and has won 11 ATP singles titles in total.

The 1.8m Nalbandian achieved his best Grand Slam singles result to date when he was the runner-up at Wimbledon in 2002. The 29-year-old is currently climbing back up the rankings after coming back from injuries. He is now ranked at No.20 and his career-high ranking to date is No.3, which he first achieved on 20 March 2006.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the quarter finals is:

  • Nicolas ALMAGRO (1) v (7) Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  • David NALBANDIAN (3) v (6) Tommy ROBREDO
  • Juan Ignacio CHELA (8) v (4) Albert MONTANES
  • Juan MONACO (5) v (2) Stanislas WAWRINKA

The 2011 Buenos Aires Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. Nicolas ALMAGRO (1) v (Q) Pablo GALDON
  2. Leonardo MAYER v (WC) Federico DEL BONIS
  3. Lukasz KUBOT v Pablo CUEVAS
  4. Jose ACASUSO (WC) v (7) Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV
  5. David NALBANDIAN (3) v Potito STARACE
  6. Juan Pablo BRZEZICKI (Q) v Filippo VOLANDRI
  7. Albert RAMOS-VINOLAS (Q) v Joao SOUZA
  8. Maximo GONZALEZ (WC) v (6) Tommy ROBREDO

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. David NALBANDIAN (3) v Rui MACHADO
  2. Pablo ANDUJAR v Horacio ZEBALLOS
  3. Fabio FOGNINI v Frederico GIL
  4. Ruben RAMIREZ HIDALGO v (4) Albert MONTANES
  5. Juan MONACO (5) v (Q) Ivan NAVARRO
  6. Igor ANDREEV v Eduardo SCHWANK
  7. Daniel GIMENO-TRAVER v Victor HANESCU
  8. Carlos BERLOCQ v (2) Stanislas WAWRINKA

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: paddynapper

1 Comment

  1. Go David! I’ll be cheering for you!
    I love the fact that such big players have included South America in their calendars, because it means that tourism in our continent is growing. I have recently been to Punta del Este, which held an exhibition tournament in December with big players like Marat Safin and Nalbandian. The event was great. Punta del Este is a great city with beautiful beaches too. I hope some day the ATP circuit includes it, so people can enjoy the city. Have you ever been to Punta del Este? You should come visit some day. Many Argentinian tennis players vacation here: Mónaco, Gaudio, Del Potro, Acasuso.

Comments are closed.