Carlsbad Open Tennis 2012

The 2012 Carlsbad Open is one of 12 WTA tournaments in the USA each year and one of only six WTA Premier 700 category tournaments. The official name of Carlsbad due to title sponsorship naming rights is the Mercury Insurance Open.

I encourage you to “Follow” Carlsbad on Twitter like I do. The official handle is @MercuryInsOpen and the official hashtag is #MIO2012. Please “Like” the official Facebook page just as I do by pasting: into your address bar then click “Like” once you are there.

The 2012 tournament is being held in La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, Southern California the USA. The surface is DecoTurf hard court and the centre court seating capacity is 1,000. The Carlsbad women’s tournament was first held in 1984 and is being held for the 27th year.

This tournament runs from Saturday 14 July to Sunday 22 July. The qualifying singles event was held on Saturday and Sunday 14 and 15 July. The main draw singles event runs from Monday 16 July through to the Women’s Singles Finals day on Sunday 22 July. 

The 2011 women’s singles champion was No.3 seed Agnieszka RADWANSKA who defeated No.1 seed Vera ZVONAREVA in the final 6-3, 6-4 to win her 8th WTA singles title and first Carlsbad title after being the runner-up in 2010.

This page was created to make it easier for YOU to find the information that YOU are looking for on OnCourt Advantage. All of the OnCourt Advantage web pages related to Carlsbad are listed below and all future 2012 Carlsbad coverage will be continually updated on this directory page.

  1. WTA Premier Tournaments
  2. Women’s Tennis Tournament Calendar 2012