Davis Cup Final 2011 Schedule of Play

The 2011 Davis Cup World Group Final is being played on an indoor clay court in the Olympic Stadium in Seville, Spain on Friday December 2 to Sunday December 4. The 2011 Davis Cup final sees Spain and Argentina battling out for the second time in the past four years. To watch the tennis in Singapore add 7 hours to the local times in Spain listed below.

Spain won the 2008 final against Argentina 3-1 at Estadio Islas Malvinas, Mar del Plata in Argentina. Spain is one of only 13 nations who have won the Davis Cup Final since USA won the inaugural Davis Cup in 1900! Spain has been crowned Davis Cup champions four times in total and all in the past eleven years – 2000, 2004, 2008 and in 2009.

Argentina who has been the runner-up nation on three occasions – 1981, 2006 and 2008 will be striving to become the 14th nation to win the Davis Cup. Exactly which players will be in each team will not be confirmed until November 22 because the deadline for official team nominations is ten days before the tie commences.

Due to title sponsorship naming rights the official name of the Davis Cup is the BNP Paribas Davis Cup after BNP Paribas took over as the competition’s title sponsor in 2002. The official tennis ball for the final is the HEAD ATP Ball. Tito Vazquez is the Davis Cup captain for Argentina and Albert Costa is the Spanish Davis Cup captain.

The Argentinean team will most likely be selected from the following group of players:

  1. Juan Martin del Potro current World No.13 and 2009 US Open singles champion;
  2. Juan Ignacio Chela current World No.25 and 2011 Roland Garros quarter finalist;
  3. Juan Monaco current World No.41 who equalled his best Grand Slam singles result (4th round) at 2011 US Open;
  4. David Nalbandian current World No.69, former No.3 and 2002 Wimbledon runner-up; and
  5. Eduardo Schwank current World No.30 in doubles and Argentina’s No.1 ranked doubles player.

The Spanish team will most likely be selected from the following group of players:

  1. Rafael Nadal current World No.2, 2011 Roland Garros singles champion and 10-time Grand Slam winner;
  2. David Ferrer current World No.5 and 2011 Australian Open semi finalist;
  3. Nicolas Almagro current World No.9 and 2008 and 2010 Roland Garros quarter finalist;
  4. Feliciano Lopez current World No.18 and 2011 Wimbledon quarter finalist; and
  5. Fernando Verdasco current World No.23 and 2009 Australian Open semi finalist.

As soon as Spain and Argentina officially announce the players who will represent their countries in the final their names will be added right here-> …

SPAIN: NADAL and FERRER playing singles with VERDASCO/F.LOPEZ in the doubles.

ARGENTINA: DEL POTRO and MONACO playing singles with NALBANDIAN/SCHWANK in the doubles.

Pictured above is Juan Martin DEL POTRO who could be the critical player in the Davis Cup final. The 23-year-old del Potro in his comeback year after right wrist surgery is currently playing in the final of the Vienna Open in Austria and is looking to climb up to No.8 to take the final spot in the London ATP Tour Finals. The 1.98m del Potro achieved his career-high ranking of No.4 on 11 January 2010.

Del Potro defeated Rafael Nadal three times in a row before this year. In 2011 Nadal won their last encounter at Wimbledon in four sets, received a walkover against del Potro at the Madrid Open and won 6-4 6-4 at the Indian Wells Open to set his own string of three wins in a row amongst these two Grand Slam champions. Who will emerge the victor in the Davis Cup Final?

The schedule of play for the 2011 Davis Cup Final is:

  • Day 1: Friday 2 December = two best-of-5 set singles matches from 2pm;
  • Day 2: Saturday 3 December = one best-of-5 set doubles match from 4pm;
  • Day 3: Sunday 4 December = two best-of-5 set singles matches from 1pm;

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round. 

Creative Commons License photo credit: Keith Allison

Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Davis Cup Final 2011: Spain vs Argentina – There Can Only Be Juan Winner

Comments are closed.