Dubai 2011 Men’s Singles Draw

The 2011 Dubai Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 21 February at 12 noon local time. There are 32 main draw spots divided up between 4 Qualifiers (Q), 3 Wild Cards (WC) and 25 Direct Acceptances. Dubai is an ATP World Tour 500 category tournament played from February 19-26.

Dubai is played for the 19th year and the court surface is blue DecoTurf II hard courts. Dubai is held at the Aviation Club Tennis Centre in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates. The centre court has a seating capacity of 5,000 and is called the Dubai Tennis Stadium. The last direct acceptance into the draw was Philipp PETZSCHNER of the Germany who was ranked No.59 at the cut-off date.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. Click this link for details about how you can buy Dubai Open Official tennis tickets and you will also find full coverage of the Dubai Open.

The total financial commitment for the 2011 tournament is 2,233,000 US dollars, with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $1,619,500. The official tournament name is the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships and as soon as the draw is announced OCA will add all of the names into the draw and quarter final match-ups lists below.

The Seeds: In a 32-player sized draw there are 8 seeded players. This means that all of the 8 seeds are separated in the draw so they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents who are unseeded, before they can meet another seed in the quarter finals. The seeding for the Dubai Open is allocated according to the latest ATP rankings before the draw is made. These latest rankings were released on Monday 14 February.

The 2011 Dubai Open men’s singles seeds are:

1-Roger FEDERER, 2-Novak DJOKOVIC, 3-Tomas BERDYCH, 4-Mikhail YOUZHNY, 5-Ivan LJUBICIC, 6-Viktor TROICKI, 7-Marcos BAGHDATIS and 8-Ernests GULBIS.

If a seeded players withdraws during the next few days before taking the court for their 1st round match OCA will update you of any new developments amongst the seeded players straight away. That seed would be replaced by the next highest ranked direct acceptance i.e. Michael LLODRA.

The Wild Cards: As soon as each of the 3 players that are awarded a wild card are announced OCA will add their names right here-> Omar AWADHY of the UAE, Somdev DEVVARMAN of India and Michael BERRER of Germany.

The Qualifiers: The 16-player qualifying tournament begins on Saturday 19 February and concludes on Sunday 20 February. As soon as the qualifying event is complete OCA will add the names of the 4 qualifiers into their allocated spots in the draw below and list their names right here-> Lukas ROSOL, Karol BECK, Grigor DIMITROV and Sergei BUBKA.

Pictured above is the 29-year-old Roger Federer of Switzerland preparing to play an overhead smash at the 2010 ATP Tour Finals in London. The 1.85m 16-time Grand Slam singles champion will be challenging for another Dubai title this year after missing the past 3 years.

Federer has won 67 ATP Tour singles titles thus including Dubai from 2003 to 2005 and again in 2007. He was denied in the Dubai final in 2006 by Rafael Nadal.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the quarter finals is:

  • Roger FEDERER (1) v (8) Ernests GULBIS
  • Mikhail YOUZHNY (4) v (5) Ivan LJUBICIC
  • Viktor TROICKI (6) v (3) Tomas BERDYCH
  • Marcos BAGHDATIS (7) v (2) Novak DJOKOVIC

The 2011 Dubai Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. Roger FEDERER (1) v (WC) Somdev DEVVARMAN
  2. Marcel GRANOLLERS v Dmitry TURSUNOV
  3. Sergiy STAKHOVSKY v (WC) Omar AWADHY
  4. Michael BERRER (WC) v (8) Ernests GULBIS
  5. Mikhail YOUZHNY (4) v Gilles SIMON
  6. Lukas ROSOL (Q) v (Q) Karol BECK
  7. Grigor DIMITROV (Q) v Richard GASQUET
  8. Sergei BUBKA (Q) v (5) Ivan LJUBICIC

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Viktor TROICKI (6) v Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER
  2. Andreas SEPPI v Philipp PETZSCHNER
  3. Nikolay DAVYDENKO v Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ
  4. Jeremy CHARDY v (3) Tomas BERDYCH
  5. Marcos BAGHDATIS (7) v Andrey GOLUBEV
  6. Florian MAYER v Jarkko NIEMINEN
  7. Feliciano LOPEZ v LU Yen-Hsun
  8. Michael LLODRA v (2) Novak DJOKOVIC

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round. 

Creative Commons License photo credit: mbevis

Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Dubai Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.