Hobart 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Hobart Open is a WTA International category tournament on the women’s professional tennis tour. The current title sponsor for Hobart is Moorilla, hence the official name is the Moorilla Hobart International in 2011. Hobart is being played at the Domain Tennis Centre in Tasmania, Australia onTrue Blue Plexicushion Prestigehard courts.

The women’s event begins on January 7 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 15 January on the centre court, which has a seating capacity of 2,500. The total prize money for the 2011 Hobart International tournament is 220,000 US dollars. The Hobart International 2011 draw is a 32-player draw with 25 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards.

The 2010 Hobart Women’s singles champion Alona BONDARENKO is pictured above at the 2010 US Open as she prepares to swing forward to make contact with the ball with this forehand drive. The 1.68m Bondarenko defeated No.2 seed Shahar Peer in the final 6-2 6-4.

Shortly afterwards Alona Bondarenko who is the elder sister of current No.99 Katernya, recorded her career best result in a Grand Slam singles event at the 2010 Australian Open by making the round of 16. The 26-year-old from the Ukraineachieved her career high ranking of No.19 on 14 April 2008.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 280 points + $37,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 200 points + $19,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 130 points + $10,200;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 70 points + $5,340;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 30 points + $2,950;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 point + $1,725.

There is a 32-player qualifying draw. The 16 players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 1 ranking point and $265. The 8 players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 6 ranking points plus $460. The 4 players who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $860 and 10 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 16 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the one point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive just the one point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 16 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 30 points for making the round of 16 plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 earns 46 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Hobart International Women’s Singles event is:

  • Friday 7 January: 1st round of Qualifying at 10am;
  • Saturday 8 January: 2nd round of Qualifying at 10am;
  • Sunday 9 January: Final Qualifying round & Main Draw 1st round at 9:30am;
  • Monday 10 January: 1st round at 11am & 7pm;
  • Tuesday 11 January: Round of 16 at 11am & 7pm;
  • Wednesday 12 January: Round of 16 at 11am & 7pm;
  • Thursday 13 January: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7pm;
  • Friday 14 January: Semi Finals at 12 noon & 7pm; and
  • Saturday 15 January: Women’s Singles Final at 5pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

Photo credit: robbiesaurus

Share this link!