Hobart 2013 Women’s Singles Draw

Klara ZakopalovaThe 2013 Hobart International main draw men’s singles matches will begin on Sunday 6 January at 11am local time in Hobart, Tasmania. In this post a number of interesting facts about the women’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The women’s singles draw has a 30-player draw consisting of 4 Qualifiers, 3 Wildcards and 25 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from the local times in Hobart listed below.

Further details, including how to buy tickets, “Like” and “Follow” Hobart, the tournament venue, centre court name and capacity, the court surface, total prize money etc. are covered here-> Hobart International Tennis 2013.

 The official main draw ceremony is being held on Friday 4 January at 7pm at The Void, downstairs at the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) Gallery, 655 Main Road, Berriedale in Hobart. The four qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 6 January. The full list of the women’s singles draw will be added here-> Hobart 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest WTA rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 31 December 2012.

There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. HSIEH Su-Wei
  2. Sorana CIRSTEA
  3. Klara ZAKOPALOVA (pictured above)
  4. Yaroslava SHVEDOVA
  5. Carla Suarez NAVARRO
  6. Francesca SCHIAVONE
  8. Sloane STEPHENS

The Wildcards:

The three wildcards were awarded to Australians: former WTA No.25 Jarmila GAJDOSOVA and current No.175 16-year-old Ashleigh BARTY and current No.331 Bojana BOBUSIC.

The Qualifiers:

The 32-player qualifying tournament will begin on Friday 4 January. There are 8 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

© photo credit: Richard van loon

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Hobart 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.