Hobart International Tennis 2012

The 2012 Hobart International tennis tournament is part of the Australian Open Series that provides the crucial preparation for the world’s best female players as they endeavour to peak at the first Grand Slam event of the year. The Australian Open Series is a 3-tournament package (Brisbane, Hobart and Sydney), all held in Australia on the exact same court surface as the Australian Open.

The Hobart International is being held at the Domain Tennis Centre in Tasmania on blue Plexicushion Prestige hard courts. The centre court in Hobart has not yet been named after anybody and holds 2,500 spectators, the total prize money for 2012 is $220,000 and this tournament was first held in 1994.

This tournament is a women’s tournament classified as a WTA International event. Hobart runs from the first day of qualifying on Friday 6 January through to the Women’s Singles Finals day on Saturday 14 January. The 2011 women’s singles champion was Jarmila GAJDOSOVA who defeated Bethanie Mattek-Sands in the final 6-4, 6-3 to win 280 WTA ranking points.

Follow the 2012 Hobart International on Twitter @HobartTennis, and use the official hash tag #mhi2012 to follow Hobart discussion.  To “Like” the official Hobart International Facebook page paste http://www.facebook.com/Moorillahobartinternational into your address bar then click “Like” once you are there.

  1. Hobart 2011 Women’s Singles Draw
  2. Hobart 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play
  3. The Road to Australian Open 2011: Men’s Singles
  4. The Road to Australian Open 2011: Women’s Singles

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Hobart International Tennis 2013 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.