Kitzbuhel 2012 Men’s Singles Draw

The 2012 Kitzbuhel Open men’s main draw singles hard-court event began on Sunday 22 July at 3pm local time. The official name of Kitzbuhel due to title sponsorship naming rights is the bet-at-home CupIn this post a number of interesting facts about the men’s singles main draw will be provided, the full singles draw and what the projected quarter finals match-ups are will be listed.

Kitzbuhel is one of the ATP Tour 250 Tournaments each year and has 28 players vying for the title, a maximum of 250 ATP ranking points and €64,700 (Euros) in prize money for the winner. There are 32 main draw spots divided up between 4 Qualifiers [Q], 3 Wild Cards [WC], 21 Direct Acceptances and 4 Bye’s. If any players withdraw from the event after the draw is made they will be replaced by a Lucky Loser [LL].

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. To watch the tennis in Singapore you need to add 6 hours to the local time in Kitzbuhel to work out the equivalent  Singapore time in the daily 2012 Kitzbuhel Order of Play and Results.

The Seeds: In a 32-player sized draw there are 8 seeded players. As mentioned, Kitzbuhel allocates four bye’s with one going to each of the Top 4 seeds. The seeded players from No.5 to No.8 play two rounds against lower ranked opponents who are unseeded, before they can meet another seed in the quarter finals. The Top 4 seeds play one match against a lower ranked opponent who is unseeded for a place in the quarter finals.

The seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP rankings BEFORE the draw is made and these latest rankings were released on Monday 16 July.

The 8 seeds were ranked from World No.22 Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER through to No.77 Blaz KAVCIC. The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Wayne ODESNIK of the USA who was ranked No.133 at the cut-off date.

The Wild Cards: the three wild card recipients were all Austrian players: Martin FISCHER, Andreas HAIDER-MAURER and Dominic THIEM.

The Qualifiers: The 26-player qualifying tournament sets the task of winning 3 best-of-three tiebreak set matches in order to qualify for the main draw. These four players then have their names added to the draw, they are: Attila BALAZS, Antonio VEIC, Philipp OSWALD and Pavol CERVENAK.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the quarter finals is:

  • Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER [1] v [8] Blaz KAVCIC
  • Albert RAMOS [4] v [7] Ernests GULBIS
  • Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ [6] v [3] Robin HAASE
  • Martin KLIZAN [5] v [2] Florian MAYER

The 2012 Kitzbuhel Open men’s singles draw is:

  1. Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER (1) v BYE
  2. Martin FISCHER [WC] v [Q] Attila BALAZS
  3. Teymuraz GABASHVILI v Lukas ROSOL
  4. Antonio VEIC [Q] v [8] Blaz KAVCIC
  5. Albert RAMOS [4] v BYE
  6. Alessandro GIANNESSI v Filippo VOLANDRI
  7. Jan HAJEK v Rogerio DUTRA SILVA
  8. Andreas HAIDER-MAURER [WC] v [7] Ernests GULBIS

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ [6] v Jurgen ZOPP
  2. Joao SOUZA v Wayne ODESNIK
  3. Philipp OSWALD [Q] v Daniel BRANDS
  4. BYE v [3] Robin HAASE
  5. Martin KLIZAN [5] v [WC] Dominic THIEM
  7. Horacio ZEBALLOS v Simone BOLELLI
  8. BYE v [2] Florian MAYER

photo credit: Richard van loon

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kitzbuhel Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!
  2. Kitzbuhel 2012 Order of Play and Results | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.