Kooyong 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Kooyong Classic is a singles exhibition tournament played on the Kooyong Stadium at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club in Melbourne, Australia. Kooyong was the former venue of the Australian Open up until it moved from natural grass to hard courts in 1988.

This event begins on January 12 and concludes with 2 Finals on Saturday 8 January. The title sponsor is AAMI making the official name of this event the AAMI Kooyong Classic in 2011 and it is played on Plexicushion Prestige hard courts.

The draw is an 8-player draw split into 2 sides, the right side and the left side. The winners of their first singles match move to the right side of the draw and the losers of their first match move to the left side of the draw.

Each of the 8 players are guaranteed 3 singles matches and the Top 4 players who play-off in the two finals get to play 4 best of 3 tie break set matches. This is one of the main reasons why such highly ranked players choose to play at Kooyong each year.

The Players:

  • World No.6 Tomas Berdych – 2010 Wimbledon runner-up
  • No.9 Fernando Verdasco – 2009 Australian Open semi finalist
  • No.10 Mikhail Youzhny – 2006 & 2010 US Open semi finalist
  • No.11 Jurgen Melzer – 2010 Roland Garros semi finalist
  • No.12 Gael Monfils – 2008 Roland Garros semi finalist
  • No.13 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga – 2008 Australian Open runner-up
  • No.22 Nikolay Davydenko – 4-time Grand Slam semi finalist
  • No.54 Lleyton Hewitt – 2001 US Open & 2002 Wimbledon Champion

If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. To follow this site in real time on Twitter click-> @OnCourtAd. To join the friends of this site on Facebook click->OnCourt Advantage.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day and that all times listed below are local times in Melbourne, Australia i.e. Eastern Standard Time.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Kooyong Classic is:

  • Wednesday 12 January from 11am: (1) Berdych v Davydenko -> (3) Youzhny v Hewitt -> (4) Melzer v Tsonga -> (2) Verdasco v Monfils
  • Thursday 13 January: 3 matches at 11am;
  • Friday 14 January: 3 matches at 11am; and
  • Saturday 15 January: 2 Singles Finals from 1pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2011

Creative Commons License photo credit: mbevis

1 Comment

Comments are closed.