Monterrey 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Monterrey Open in Mexico is a WTA International category tournament played on hard courts from February 26 to March 6. The official tournament name is the Whirlpool Monterrey Open due to title sponsorship naming rights.

The qualifying singles draw begins on Saturday February 26 and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday March 6. The Monterrey singles event has a 32-player draw that contains 24 direct acceptances, 4 Qualifiers, 3 Wild Cards and 1 Special Exempt.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

The 3rd year of this event is being played at the Sierra Madre Tennis Club in San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico. The centre court is called Cancha Estadio and has a capacity of 2,000 spectators. The total prize money for the 2011 Monterrey tournament is $220,000 US dollars. The 8 seeds are selected according to the WTA rankings as at 21 February 2011.

The 2010 Monterrey Open Women’s singles champion was No.3 seed Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (pictured above) who defeated No.2 seed Daniela Hantuchova 1-6, 6-1, 6-0 in the final to win her first WTA singles title.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

This is how the WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players for each round:

  1. The winner earns 280 points + $37,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 200 points + $19,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 130 + $10,200;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 70 + $5,340,
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 30 + $2,950;
  6. The *16 players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 point + $1,725;
  7. The 4 players who qualify earn 16 points for qualifying;
  8. The 4 players who lose in the final round of qualifying earn 10 points + $860;
  9. The 8 players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 6 points + $460;
  10. The 16 players who lose in the 1st round of qualifying receive 1 point + $265.

*The points awarded to a 1st round loser vary according to how they were allocated a place in the 1st round. A player who qualifies for the main draw and then loses the 1st round earns 17 points (16+1). A player, who starts in the 1st round i.e. a direct acceptance or a wild card recipient, receives 1 ranking point if she loses her 1st round match.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 16 points for qualifying. Therefore, a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 30 points for making the 2nd round plus 16 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the 2nd round earns 46 ranking points in total.

A Lucky Loser who loses in the 1st round of the main draw earns 10 points from the qualifying event in addition to the points allocated per round e.g. a 1st round loss by a Lucky Loser equals 10 plus 1, for a total of 11.

The 2011 Monterrey Open schedule of play for the entire event is:

  • Saturday 26 February: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 10am;
  • Sunday 27 February: Qualifying 2nd round from 11am;
  • Monday 28 February: Qualifying final round from 11am;
  • Monday 28 February: Main Draw 1st round from 3pm and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 1 March: 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 2 March: Round of 16 from 3pm and 7pm;
  • Thursday 3 March: Quarter Finals from 3pm and 7pm;
  • Friday 4 March: Quarter Finals from 3pm and 7pm;
  • Saturday 5 March: Semi Finals at 4pm;
  • Sunday 6 March: Women’s Singles Final at 4pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Robbie Mendelson


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Monterrey Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.