Paris 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Paris Open is a WTA Premier category tournament on the women’s professional tennis tour. Paris begins a week after the Australian Open. The official name of the 2011 Paris event is the Open GDF Suez due to title sponsorship naming rights.

The 19th year of the Paris women’s event begins on Saturday February 5 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 13 at 2:30pm. The Paris singles event has a 32-draw with 2 BYE’s; one to each of the Top 2 seeds thus 30 players in total. The draw contains 23 direct acceptances, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards. The Top 8 ranked players in the draw become the 8 seeds.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. 

Paris is held at the Pierre de Coubertin Stadium in Paris, France on Greenset hard courts. The total prize money for the 2011 Paris Open GDF Suez tournament is 618,000 US dollars. The last French player to win was the retired Amelie Mauresmo who won in 2009, 2006 and 2001. This year local hopes will be lead by the highest ranked French woman in the field at World No. 21 Aravane Rezai.

The 2010 Paris Women’s singles champion was the recently retired Elena Dementieva who defeated Lucie Safarova. SAFAROVA is pictured above at the 2010 US Open just as she is swinging forward to make contact with the ball for this forehand drive. Dementieva defeated the left-handed Safarova 6-7 (5-7), 6-1, 6-4 in the final.

The 1.77m Safarova turns 24-years-old in 2 days time and achieved her career-best result in a Grand Slam singles event at the 2007 Australian Open when she made the quarter finals. The Czech was also the runner-up at Paris in 2007, which was the same year that she achieved her career-high ranking of No.22 on August 7.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 470 points + $103,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 320 points + $55,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 200 points + $29,500;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 120 points + $15,675;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 60 points + $8,500;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 points + $4,650.

There is a 32-player qualifying draw. The 24 players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 1 ranking point and $725. The 12 players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 8 ranking points plus $1,350. The 6 players who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $2,500 and 12 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 20 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the one point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive just the one point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 20 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 60 points for making the round of 16 plus 20 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 80 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Paris Women’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 5 February: Qualifying event 1st round from 10am;
  • Sunday 6 February: Qualifying 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Monday 7 February: Qualifying final round from 12 noon;
  • Monday 7 February: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 8 February: 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Wednesday 9 February: 1st and 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Thursday 10 February: 2nd round from 12 noon;
  • Friday 11 February: Quarter Finals from 1pm & 7:30pm;
  • Saturday 12 February: Semi Finals from 2pm; and
  • Sunday 13 February: Women’s Singles Final at 2:30pm

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Robbie Mendelson