Pattaya 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Pattaya Open is a WTA International category tournament and begins a week after the Australian Open. Due to title sponsorship naming rights the official name of this event is the PTT Pattaya Open after PTT Public Co. Ltd joined Pattaya City to be the title sponsor in 2009.

The 19th year of the Pattaya women’s event begins on Saturday February 5 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 13 at 2:30pm. The Pattaya singles event has a 32-player draw that contains 25 direct acceptances, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards. The Top 8 ranked players in the draw become the 8 seeds.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets.

Pattaya is held at the Dusit Thani Hotel in Pattaya, Thailand on hard courts. The centre court has a capacity of 2,500 spectators on finals weekend. The total prize money for the 2011 Pattaya Open tournament is 220,000 US dollars. Thailand’s No.1 ranked player 33-year-old Tamarine Tanasugarn has been a runner-up twice at this event and along with 19-year-old Thai No.2 Noppawan Lertcheewakarn, will lead the local hopes this year.

The 2010 Pattaya Women’s singles champion was Vera ZVONAREVA is pictured above at the 2010 Miami Open in position and set to make the forward swing to the ball for this double-handed backhand. Zvonareva defeated Tanasugarn 6-4 6-4 in the 2010 final and is the No.1 seed again as she attempts to win Pattaya for the third successive year.

The 1.72m Zvonareva achieved her Grand Slam singles result by making the final at both Wimbledon and the US Open in 2010. The 26-year-old Russian achieved her career-high ranking of No.2 in the same year on October 25 and has won 10 WTA singles titles to date. Zvonareva will be looking to ride her current career-best form to the World No.1 ranking and a Grand Slam singles title.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 280 points + $37,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 200 points + $19,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 130 points + $10,400;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 70 points + $5,625;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 30 points + $3,100;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 points + $1,825.

There is a 16-player qualifying draw. The 8 players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 1 ranking point and $450. The 4 players who lose in the final round of qualifying earn 6 ranking points plus $850.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 10 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the one point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive just the one point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 10 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 30 points for making the round of 16 plus 10 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 earns 40 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Pattaya Women’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 5 February: Qualifying event 1st round from 10am;
  • Sunday 6 February: Qualifying 2nd round from 10am;
  • Monday 7 February: Qualifying final round from 12 noon;
  • Monday 7 February: Main Draw 1st round from 3pm;
  • Tuesday 8 February: 1st round from 3pm;
  • Wednesday 9 February: 1st and 2nd round from 3pm;
  • Thursday 10 February: 2nd round from 3pm;
  • Friday 11 February: Quarter Finals from 3pm;
  • Saturday 12 February: Semi Finals from 3pm; and
  • Sunday 13 February: Women’s Singles Final at 3pm

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

© photo credit: sr_cranks