Qatar 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Qatar Open is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament and is one of only 2 ATP Tour tournaments in the Middle East this year. The title sponsor is ExxonMobil and it is the ONLY ATP tournament Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal are playing in preparation for the Australian Open. Qatar is held at the Khalifa International Tennis Complex in Doha.

The 2011 ExxonMobil Qatar Open event begins on January 1 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 9 January. The Qatar Open 2011 draw is a 32-player draw with 25 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards.

The total financial commitment for the 2011 Qatar Open tournament is 1,110,250 US dollars. Qatar is by far the leader in terms of how much prize money it awards to the players out of the 3 ATP Tour 250 category tournaments being held in the first week of January. The he total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $1,024,000. The Qatar Open is played on Plexicushion hard courts and the Men’s Singles Final is played on the centre court, which has a seating capacity of 6,911.

The 2010 Qatar Men’s singles champion Nikolay DAVYDENKO is pictured above as he is swinging his racquet to the contact point for this forehand drive. The 29-year-old now has a full Dunlop sponsorship and uses the DUNLOP Biomimetic 200 Plus. The 1.78m Russian defeated Rafael Nadal in the final 0-6, 7-6 (10-8), 6-4 after saving 2 match points making him the second player to defeat both Roger Federer and Nadal in the same tournament on 2 occasions.

Davydenko has won 20 ATP singles titles and made the semi finals of Grand Slam singles events on 4 occasions. The past 3 semi finals he has lost to Federer at the 2006 and 2007 US Open and at Roland Garros in 2007. In his last 5 Australian Open singles events he has made the quarter finals on 4 occasions including last year when he gave Federer a tough match. Davydenko achieved his career high ranking of No.3 on 6 November 2006.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 250 points + $176,340;
  2. The runner-up earns 150 points + $92,360;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 90 points + $49,850;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 45 points + $28,550;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 20 points + $16,770;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $9,935 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

There is a 30-player qualifying draw, which means ONLY the No.1 and No.2 seed have a BYE in the 1st round. The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn DO NOT earn any money and DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $795 but DO NOT earn any ranking points and the payers who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $1,650 and 6 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 12 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 12 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 20 points for making the round of 16 plus 12 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 32 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Qatar Open Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 1 January: Qualifying event at 12 noon;
  • Sunday 2 January: Qualifying event at 12 noon;
  • Monday 3 January: Main Draw 1st round at 3:30pm;
  • Tuesday 4 January: 1st round at 3:30pm;
  • Wednesday 5 January: Round of 16 from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 6 January: Round of 16 from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Friday 7 January: Quarter Finals from 11am; and
  • Saturday 8 January: Semi Finals at 4:30pm; and
  • Sunday 9 January: Men’s Singles Final at 4:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Dunlop Sport