Rotterdam 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Rotterdam Open is an ATP World Tour 500 category tournament played on indoor hard courts from February 5-13. The official name of the 2011 event is the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament due to title sponsorship naming rights.

The 2011 Rotterdam Open men’s event begins on Saturday February 5 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 13 at 3pm. The Rotterdam singles event has a 32-player draw that contains 25 direct acceptances, 4 Qualifiers and 3 Wild Cards.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. 

The Rotterdam Open is held at the Ahoy Rotterdam Indoor Sporting Arena in Rotterdam in the Netherlands. The capacity of the arena is 10,000 spectators. The total financial commitment for the 2011 tournamentis 1,445,000 Euros (€) and the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event is €1,150,000. The 8 seeds are selected according to the ATP rankings as at 31 January 2011.

The last Dutch man to win the title was Jan Siemerink in 1998. The current Tournament Director, Richard Krajicek won in 1995 and 1997 and won the 2006 Wimbledon singles title. The No.1 ranked Dutch man at World No.50 is 1.93m Thiemo de Bakker. The 22-year-old de Bakker will lead the Dutch charge this year as he strives to repeat his junior World No.1 ranking and Grand Slam singles success on the men’s tour.

The 2010 Rotterdam Men’s singles runner-up was Mikhail Youzhny who is pictured above swinging his tennis racquet towards the contact point with the ball for this single-handed backhand at the 2010 US Open. The 28-year-old Russian achieved his best Grand Slam singles result to date by twice making the semi finals at the US Open, in 2010 and 2006. The current No.10 achieved his career-high ranking of No.8 on 28 January 2008.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 500 points + € 279,500;
  2. The runner-up earns 300 points + € 126,150;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 180 points + € 59,550;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 90 points + € 28,760;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 45 points + € 14,680;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive € 8,075 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

There is a 16-player qualifying draw. The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn € 505 and DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd and final round of qualifying earn € 910 and 10 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 20 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 20 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 45 points for making the round of 16 plus 20 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 65 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Rotterdam Open Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 5 February: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Sunday 6 February: Qualifying Draw 2nd round from 11am;
  • Monday 7 February: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Tuesday 8 February: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Wednesday 9 February: Round of 16 from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 10 February: Round of 16 from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Friday 11 February: Quarter Finals from 12:30pm and 7:30pm;
  • Saturday 12 February: Semi Finals from 2pm and 7:30pm;
  • Sunday 13 February: Men’s Singles Final at 2pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Robbie Mendelson

Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Pro Blogger News

Comments are closed.