San Jose 2011 Men’s Singles Draw

Follow @SAPOpenTennis on Twitter here->!/SAPOpenTennisThe 2011 San Jose SAP Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 7 February at 9:45am local time in San Jose Northern California in the USA. There are 32 main draw spots divided up between 4 Qualifiers (Q), 3 Wild Cards (WC), 1 Injury Protected Ranking (IPR) and 24 Direct Acceptances.

The official draw is being held on Friday February 4 at 12 noon at the Fairmont Hotel in downtown San Jose. As soon as it is drawn OnCourt Advantage will post it below and add the names into the quarter final match ups for seeds. As soon as the qualifying event is complete OnCourt Advantage will add the names of the 4 qualifiers into their allocated spots in the draw.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage

The Seeds: In a 32-player sized draw there are 8 seeded players. This means that all of the 8 seeds are separated in the draw so they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents who are unseeded, before they can meet another seed in the quarter finals. The seeding for the San Jose Open is allocated according to the latest ATP rankings before the draw is made. These latest rankings were released on Monday 31 January.

The 2011 San Jose Open men’s singles seeds are:

1-Fernando VERDASCO, 2-Gael MONFILS, 3-Mardy FISH, 4-Sam QUERREY, 5-Xavier MALISSE, 6-Denis ISTOMEN, 7-Benjamin BECKER and 8-Lleyton HEWITT.

If any of the seeded players withdraw during the next few days before taking the court for their 1st round match I will update the seeded players list above straight away. That seed would be replaced by the next highest ranked direct acceptance i.e. Kei NISHIKORI. No.3 seed Mardy FISH is rumoured to be in doubt with the thyroid problem that affected him at the Australian Open.

UPDATE: After Mardy Fish had to withdraw, Kei Nishikori became the No.8 seed and original No.4 to No.8 seeded players all moved up one spot in the seedings.

The Wild Cards: The wild cards are chosen by Tournament Director Bill Rapp. The first wild card was awarded to American James BLAKE, the second to Canadian rising star Milos RAONIC and the final one to American Bradley KLAHN.

UPDATE: After a couple of players withdrew original wild card recipients James Blake and Milos Raonic made the cut-off according to their ranking merit. The two available wild cards were then awarded to Americans Rajeev RAM and Tim SMYCZEK.

The Qualifiers: The 28-player qualifying tournament begins on Saturday 5 February and concludes on Sunday 6 February. As soon as each of the four players win their 3rd or final round of qualifying to qualify for the main draw OnCourt Advantage will add their names right here-> Alex KUZNETSOV, Roman BORVANOV, Jesse LEVINE and Robert FARAH.

To see the FULL 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play, prize money and ATP ranking points earned per round plus more details about the qualifying event click HERE.

The 2010 SAP Open Men’s singles champion Fernando Verdasco is pictured above with the SAP Open winners trophy. Verdasco defeated No.1 seed Andy Roddick in the final 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 in 2 hours and 11 minutes. Verdasco has two former US Open singles champions in his half of the draw, former World No.1 Lleyton HEWITT and Juan Martin DEL POTRO.

The 22-year-old del Potro is currently ranked at No.485 after missing being injured since the Australian Open in January 2010 then undergoing right wrist surgery. The 1.98m Argentinean lost in the 1st round of both events he played in late September and the first week of October in 2010 before returning to the tour full-time in 2011. The right-hander gained entry via the Injury Protected Ranking rule, which re-calculates and IPR that allowed del Potro to make the cut-off.

The draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the quarter finals is:

  • Fernando VERDASCO (1) v (5) Denis ISTOMIN
  • Sam QUERREY (3) v (7) Lleyton HEWITT
  • Benjamin BECKER (6) v (4) Xavier MALISSE
  • Kei NISHIKORI (8) v (2) Gael MONFILS

The 2011 San Jose Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. Fernando VERDASCO (1) v (WC) Rajeev RAM
  3. Michael RUSSELL v (Q) Alex KUZNETSOV
  4. Roman BORVANOV (Q) v (5) Denis ISTOMIN
  5. Sam QUERREY (3) v Lukas LACKO
  6. Teymuraz GABASHVILI v (IPR) Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  7. Brian DABUL v Alejandro FALLA
  8. Bjorn PHAU v (7) Lleyton HEWITT

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Benjamin BECKER (6) v Ricardo BERANKIS
  2. Dustin BROWN v Donald YOUNG
  3. Jesse LEVINE (Q) v James BLAKE
  4. Milos RAONIC v (4) Xavier MALISSE
  5. Kei NISHIKORI (8) v Jan HAJEK
  6. Robert FARAH (Q) v (WC) Tim SMYCZEK
  7. Robert KENDRICK v Igor KUNITSYN
  8. Bradley KLAHN (WC) v (2) Gael MONFILS

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slams click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5 and Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

© photo credit: SAP Open

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Tennis Replays: Fancy Feet, Tourney Snippets & Funny Stuff
  2. San Jose Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.