South Africa 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 South African Tennis Open is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament and is one of three men’s professional tennis tour events that begins on the day after the Australian Open ends. The official name of the 2011 event is the SA Tennis Open.

The men’s event begins on Saturday January 29 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 6 at 4pm. The South African singles event has a 32-player draw that contains 25 direct acceptances, 4 Qualifiers (Q) and 3 Wild Cards (WC). The Top 8 ranked players in the draw become the 8 seeds.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets. 

The SA Tennis Open is held at the Montecasino Outdoor Event Area in Gauteng, Johannesburg, South Africa on hard courts. The total financial commitment for the 2011 tournament is 500,000 US dollars, with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being $442,500.

The 2010 SA Tennis Open Men’s singles champion Feliciano LOPEZ is pictured above at the 2010 US Open about to make contact with the ball for this single-handed slice backhand. The 1.88m Spaniard defeated Stephane Robert in the final 7-5 6-1 in 1 hour and 14 minutes.

The 29-year-old Lopez achieved his best Grand Slam singles result to date by making the quarter finals of the 2005 and 2008 Wimbledon events. The left-handed Lopez achieved his career-high ranking of No.20 on 31 January 2005 and is currently ranked at No.33. Lopez has won both his ATP Tour singles titles on hard courts and goes into his title defence as the No.1 seed.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 250 points + $76,500;
  2. The runner-up earns 150 points + $40,300;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 90 points + $21,800;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 45 points + $12,435;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 20 points + $7,235;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive $4,340 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

There is a 32-player qualifying draw. The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn DO NOT earn any money and DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $360 but DO NOT earn any ranking points and the payers who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $740 and 6 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 12 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 12 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 20 points for making the round of 16 plus 12 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 32 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 SA Tennis Open Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 29 January: Qualifying event 1st round at 10am;
  • Sunday 30 January: Qualifying at 10am;
  • Monday 31 January” Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 1 February: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Wednesday 2 February: Round of 16 from 11am & 6pm;
  • Thursday 3 February: Round of 16 from 12 noon & 6pm;
  • Friday 4 February: Quarter Finals from 2pm & 6pm;
  • Saturday 5 February: Semi Finals from 2pm; and
  • Sunday 6 February: Men’s Singles Final at 2:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every Grand Slam tournament, every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slam – Roland Garros (French Open), click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5.

Creative Commons License photo credit: Christian Mesiano