Sydney 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Sydney International is a WTA Premier category tournament on the women’s professional tennis tour. The Sydney International is the second leg of the 2011 Australian Open series. Sydney is held at the Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre in New South Wales on blue Plexicushion Prestige hard courts.

The women’s event begins on January 7 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Friday 14 January. The Sydney International 2011 draw is a 30-player draw with 22 direct acceptances of which the Top 8 are seeded, 6 qualifiers and 2 wild cards.

The total prize money for the 2011 Sydney International tournament is 600,000 US dollars. The Women’s Singles Final is played on the centre court called Ken Rosewall Arena, which has a seating capacity of 10,000.

The 2010 Sydney Women’s singles champion was the recently retired Elena DEMENTIEVA pictured above at the 2010 US Open just as after making contact with the ball for this forehand drive. The 1.8m Russian defeated Serena Williams in the final 6-3 6-2. The 29-year-old achieved her best result at the Australian Open in 2009 when she made the semi finals.

The 2008 Olympic singles gold medalist achieved her career high ranking of No.3 on 6 April 2009. The 2004 Roland Garros and US Open singles runner-up made the semi finals or better at all 4 Grand Slam singles tournaments.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 470 points + $98,500;
  2. The runner-up earns 320 points + $53,100;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 200 points + $28,650;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 120 points + $15,450;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 60 points + $8,325;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 1 points + $4,500.

There is a 48-player qualifying draw. The 24 players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 1 ranking point and $350. The 12 players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 8 ranking points plus $825. The 6 players who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn $1,900 and 12 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 20 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, earn just the one point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round also receive just the one point.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 20 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 60 points for making the round of 16 plus 20 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 80 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Sydney International Women’s Singles event is:

  • Friday 7 January: Qualifying event at 10am;
  • Saturday 8 January: Qualifying event at 10am;
  • Sunday 9 January: Main Draw 1st round at 11am;
  • Monday 10 January: Round of 16 at 11am;
  • Tuesday 11 January: Round of 16 at 11am;
  • Wednesday 12 January: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 13 January: Semi Finals from 11am; and
  • Friday 14 January: Women’s Singles Final at 7:30pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30

Photo credit: Christian Mesiano

Share this link!

1 Comment

4 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Serena Williams VS Elena Dementieva 13/17- Semifinal | Best of Tennis
  2. Sydney 2011 Women's Schedule of Play | TENNIS: | The Tennis News
  3. Sydney 2011 Women's Schedule of Play | TENNIS:
  4. Yonex Tennis Clinic with Ana Ivanovic and Elena Dementieva | Best of Tennis

Comments are closed.