Sydney 2013 Women’s Singles Draw

Sara ErraniThe 2013 Sydney International main draw women’s singles matches will begin on Sunday 6 January at 11am local time in Sydney, Australia. In this post a number of interesting facts about the women’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The women’s singles draw has a 30-player draw consisting of 6 Qualifiers, 2 Wildcards and 22 Direct Acceptances of whom 8 become The Seeds. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours to the local time in Sydney.

Full details about how you can buy your Official Sydney International tennis tickets and find all of the details you need to know are covered and continually added here-> Sydney International Tennis 2013 includes, the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details.

The official main draw ceremony is being held on Friday 4 January. The six qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 6 January. The full list of the women’s singles draw will be added here-> Sydney 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest WTA rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 31 December 2012.

There are 8 seeded players in a 32-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the quarter finals. The Top 2 seeds have a BYE in the 1st round, thus only need to win one match to make the quarter finals.

The following is a list of who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded:

  1. Agnieszka RADWANSKA
  2. Angelique KERBER
  3. Sara ERRANI (pictured above)
  4. LI Na
  5. Petra KVITOVA
  6. Samantha STOSUR
  7. Caroline WOZNIACKI
  8. Nadia Petrova

The Wildcards:

The two wildcards were awarded to Australians former WTA No.39 currently No.101 Casey DELLACQUA and current No.114 21-year-old Olivia ROGOWSKA.

The Qualifiers:

The 48-player qualifying tournament will begin on Friday 4 January. There are 12 seeds in the qualifying who are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round” to determine who will earn their place in the singles main draw after by winning three straight matches.

Photo credit:  Robbie Mendelson


Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Sydney 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.