Zagreb 2011 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Zagreb Indoors is an ATP World Tour 250 category tournament and is one of three men’s professional tennis tour events that begins on the day after the Australian Open ends. The official name of the 2011 Zagreb event is the PBZ Zagreb Indoors due to title sponsorship naming rights.

The men’s event begins on Saturday January 29 with the qualifying singles draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday February 6 at 4pm. The Zagreb singles event has a 32-player draw with 4 BYE’s, one to each of the Top 4 seeds thus 28 players in total. The draw contains 21 direct acceptances, 4 qualifiers and 3 wild cards. The Top 8 ranked players in the draw become the 8 seeds.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. If you need help buying tickets click here for official tickets.

Zagreb is held in Dom sportova in Zagreb, Croatia on RuKortHard hard courts. The total financial commitment for the 2011 Zagreb tournament is 450,000 Euros (€), with the total prize money for the Men’s Singles event being €72,600.

The 2010 Zagreb Men’s singles champion Marin CILIC is pictured above at the 2010 Canadian Open preparing to make contact with the ball with his double-handed backhand. The 1.98m Croatian delighted his home town fans by winning back-to-back titles when he defeated Michael Berrer in the final 6-4, 6-7 (5-7), 6-3 in 2 hours and 39 minutes.

The 22-year-old Cilic achieved his best Grand Slam singles result to date by making the semi finals of the 2010 Australian Open. Shortly afterwards he achieved his career-high ranking of No.9 on 22 February 2010. Cilic has won all five of his ATP Tour singles titles on hard courts and goes in this year as the No.1 seed for the second year in a row as he attempts to win Zagreb for the third successive year.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The ATP ranking points and prize money for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 250 points + €72,600;
  2. The runner-up earns 150 points + €38,200;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 90 points + €20,700;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 45 points + €11,800;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 20 points + €6,940;
  6. The *players who lose in the 1st round receive €4,120 but DO NOT earn any ranking points.

There is a 32-player qualifying draw. The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn DO NOT earn any money and DO NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn €320 but DO NOT earn any ranking points and the payers who lose in the 3rd and final round of qualifying earn €670 and 6 ranking points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 12 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, do not earn a point. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any ranking points.

From the round of 16 onwards any qualifiers who win, earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 12 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the round of 16 earns 20 points for making the round of 16 plus 12 points for qualifying. Thus, a qualifier who loses in the round of 16 has earns 32 ranking points in total.

The schedule of play for the 2011 Zagreb Men’s Singles event is:

  • Saturday 29 January: Qualifying event 1st round at 10:30am;
  • Sunday 30 January: Qualifying 2nd round at 10:30am;
  • Monday 31 January: Qualifying 3rd & final round from 10:30am;
  • Monday 31 January” Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 1 February: Main Draw 1st round from 12 noon;
  • Wednesday 2 February: Round of 16 from 12 noon;
  • Thursday 3 February: Round of 16 from 12 noon;
  • Friday 4 February: Quarter Finals from 1:50pm and 6pm;
  • Saturday 5 February: Semi Finals from 5pm; and
  • Sunday 6 February: Men’s Singles Final at 4pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every Grand Slam tournament, every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. For details about the next Grand Slam – Roland Garros (French Open), click-> Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5.

© photo credit: Philip Ip