Australian Open 2010 Women’s Seeding

The Australian Open 2010 will be a great display of women’s tennis where all the best players on the WTA Tour will be battling it out for the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup, which is the trophy for the winner of the women’s singles event.

In a Grand Slam event like the Australian Open the Top 32 ranked players are seeded. This ensures that the seeded players cannot player each other until the 3rd round.

A Grand Slam tournament main draw for the singles event consists of 128 players. After the first two rounds are played only 32 players remain. This is when all of the seeded players begin to play off against each other, IF and that’s a big “IF”, they all win their first two matches against the lower ranked women who are unseeded.

Only 16 countries have seeded players in the women’s singles draw. 8 of those countries have just one representative each. These countries are Belgium, China, Germany, Denmark, Belarus, Poland, Israel and Australia.

Francesca Schiavone who is pictured above after making contact with the ball during her service motion is one of 2 Italian women who are seeded. The Italians won their 2nd Fed Cup championship by beating the USA in the final on 8 November 2009 to become the No.1 ranked Fed Cup Nation in the world.

The Top 8 countries share 24 of the 32 seed they are Russia with 8, France and Spain 3 each, Italy, Ukraine, Slovakia, Serbia and the USA all have 2 seeded players each. Russia has the most seeded players with 8, which means 1 in very 4 seeds are Russian women.

In the top half of the draw the following players are seeded to meet in the 3rd round:

  • (1) Serena Williams versus (32) Carla Suarez Navarro
  • (21) Sabine Lisicki v. (13) Samantha Stosur
  • (9) Vera Zvonareva v. (20) Ana Ivanovic
  • (28) Elena Vesnina versus (7) Victoria Azarenka
  • (4) Caroline Wozniacki v. (29) Shahar Peer
  • (22) Daniela Hantuchova v. (16) Li Na
  • (10) Agnieszka Radwanska v. (17) Francesca Schiavone
  • (25) Anabel Medina Garrigues v. (6) Venus Williams

In the bottom half of the draw the following players are seeded to meet in the 3rd round:

  • (5) Elena Dementieva v. (27) Alisa Kleybanova
  • (18) Virginie Razzano v. (12) Flavia Pennetta
  • (15) Kim Clijsters v. (19) Nadia Petrova
  • (26) Aravane Rezai v. (3) Svetlana Kuznetsova
  • (8) Jelena Jankovic v. (31) Alona Bondarenko
  • (24) Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez v. (11) Marion Bartoli
  • (14) Maria Sharapova v. (23) Dominika Cibulkova
  • (30) Katernya Bondarenko v. (2) Dinara Safina

Stay tuned to this tennis website for more coverage of the 2010 Australian Open.

Today’s POST is dedicated to Mary Pierce. Pierce was born on this day in 1975. The citizen of Canada, France and the USA represented France throughout her career and won 2 Grand Slam singles titles: the Australian Open in 1995 and the French Open in 2000. She achieved her highest career ranking of No.3 on 30 January 1995.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Carl Blake

Share this link!