Australian Open 2011 Men’s Singles Draw: Qualifying

The 2011 Australian Open men’s qualifying singles event begins on Wednesday 12 January at 10am local time in Melbourne. The qualifying event is scheduled to be completed on Saturday 15 January and is played at the same venue as the main event, unlike Wimbledon.

The qualifying matches are best-of-3 tiebreak sets and NOT best-of-5 sets like the main draw singles matches. The final set is an advantage set so there is no tiebreak. If the set score is tied at 6 games all, just like the final set in the main draw of this tournament, the players continue to play until one player gains a 2 game advantage. At Wimbledon 2010 John Isner and Nicolas Mahut set a record score in the final advantage set, when Isner won by 70 games to 68!

There are 16 spots in the main draw of the Australian Open are allocated to qualifiers. The qualifiers have the opportunity to really improve their ranking because the Grand Slam tournaments offer the most ranking points. A qualifier earns 25 points more than a direct acceptance into the main singles draw does if they both lose in the 1st round.

There are 128 spots in the qualifying draw of which 8 were wild cards (WC) and 120 direct acceptances. There are 32 seeds in the qualifying which means that the highest 32 ranked players at the cut-off date are seeded to meet each other in the “Qualifying Round”. A seeded player occupies one of every 4 spots in the draw.

The “Qualifying Round” is the round that decides which players qualify for the main draw, because the winner of that round qualifies. OCA will be following the Australian Open including the qualifying results, so visit here regularly and ask any questions you would like to know about this tournament or anything about tennis.

There are 12 Australian men in the qualifying draw, 5 direct acceptances and 7 wild cards in a strong show of support by Tennis Australia for local players. In the draw below “AUS” is added to the name of the 12 Australians. Only one qualifying wild card was awarded to a non-Australian and that went to 2010 Australian Open junior singles champion Tiago Fernandes of Brazil.

Players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying receive more ranking points than a direct acceptance who loses his 1st round match. The direct acceptance is awarded 10 ATP ranking points for losing in the 1st round of the main draw versus 14 points for the 3rd round loser in qualifying.

The seeds do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of the qualifying event. All players must win 3 matches in a row in order to qualify. The qualifying draws are different to main draws because these events do not play off until there is one undefeated player. Therefore, the No.1 seed and the No.2 seed are not separated at the opposite ends of the draw. All 32 seeds are just listed down the draw. The 32 seeds are bolded in the draw below.

Pictured above is 2009 Australian Open runner-up and 2010 semi finalist Jo-Wilfried Tsonga beautifully positioned to fire up into the contact point during his service action. The 25-year-old from France achieved his career high ranking of No.6 on 17 November 2008 yet his best Grand Slam singles results came after that. Added to his two best Grand Slam singles results mentioned above, Tsonga made the quarter finals for the first time at Wimbledon in 2010.

The 1.88m Tsonga missed the end of the 2010 with a recurrence of the left knee injury that he first occurred at Wimbledon earlier in the year. Tsonga has already made the semi finals at the Qatar Open in Doha and is playing the Kooyong Classic in Melbourne this week in preparation for another big tilt at his best Grand Slam event.

The draw for the 2011 Australian Open Men’s qualifying singles event is:

  1. (1) Blaz Kavcic versus Benjamin Mitchell-AUS
  2. Rik De Voest v Laurent Recouderc
  3. Greg Jones-AUS v Olivier Patience
  4. Guillermo Alcaide v (25) Ilija Bozoljac
  5. (2) Simone Bolelli v Ivo Minar
  6. Timo Nieminen v Marco Crugnola
  7. Nicolas Massu v Philip Bester
  8. Brydan Klein-AUS v (22) Konstantin Kravchuk
  9. (3) Grigor Dimitrov v Matteo Viola
  10. Reda El Amrani v Marek Semjan
  11. David Guez v Thomas Schoorel
  12. Giovanni Lapentti v (19) Stefan Koubek
  13. (4) Joao Souza v Flavio Cipolla
  14. Matthias Bachinger v (WC) Chris Guccione-AUS
  15. Dusan Lojda v Rajeev Ram
  16. Evgeny Donskoy v. (29) Rogerio Dutra Da Silva
  17. (5) Marco Chiudinelli v Alex Bogomolov Jnr
  18. Michael Lammer v Thiago Alves
  19. Adrian Ungur v Frank Dancevic
  20. (WC) Tiago Fernandes v (23) Evgeny Korolev
  21. (6) Ryan Sweeting v Nikola Ciric
  22. Florian Reynet v (WC) Sean Berman-AUS
  23. Simone Vagnozzi v Ivo Klec
  24. Alex Kuznetsov v (32) Lukas Rosol
  25. (7) Andreas Haider-Maurer v Yannick Mertens
  26. Frederik Nielsen v Alexander Peya
  27. Guillermo Olaso v Tatsuma Ito
  28. (WC) Luke Saville-AUS v (18) Nicolas Mahut
  29. (8) Go Soeda v Robert Farah
  30. (WC) Maverick Banes-AUS v Simon Stadler
  31. Laurent Rochette v Samuel Groth-AUS
  32. Arnau Brugues-Davi v (24) Alexandre Kudryavtsev
  33. (9) Denis Gremelmayr v  Victor Crivoi
  34. Pavol Cervenak v Bastian Knittel
  35. Ivan Sergeyev v Amir Weintraub
  36. Romain Jouan v (17) Simon Greul
  37. (10) Jesse Huta Galung v Gregoire Burquier
  38. Juan Sebastian Cabal v Peter Polansky
  39. Sebastian Rieschick v John Millman-AUS
  40. Andrey Kuznetsov v (31) Vincent Millot
  41. (11) Gilles Muller v Nick Lindahl
  42. Fritz Wolmarans v Augustin Gensse
  43. Matwe Middelkoop v Charles-Antione Brezac
  44. Jurgen Zopp v (20) Jaroslav Pospisil
  45. (12) Stephane Robert v Leonardo Tavares
  46. Clement Reix v Antonio Veic
  47. Dominik Meffert v Bobby Reynolds
  48. Michael Yani v (30) Jerzy Janowicz
  49. (13) Edouard Roger-Vasselin v Jan Hernych
  50. Roberto Bautista-Agut v Yuichi Sugita
  51. Paul Capdeville v James Ward
  52. Joao Sousa v  (27) Josselin Ouanna
  53. (14) Igor Sijsling v  Danai Udomchoke
  54. Matteo Trevisan v  Franco Skugor
  55. Tim Smyczek v (WC) James Duckworth-AUS
  56. Sergio Gutierrez-Ferrol (21) Grega Zemlja
  57. (15) Donald Young v Dieter Kindlmann
  58. Alberto Brizzi v Alexander Lobkov
  59. (WC) Matt Reid-AUS v Izak Van der Merwe
  60. Jean-Rene Lisnard v (28) Marc Gicquel
  61. (16) Conor Niland v Kevin Kim
  62. Andrej Martin v James Lemke-AUS
  63. Ryler DeHeart v Nikola Mektic
  64. David Goffin v (26) Milos Raonic

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open -> Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2011

Creative Commons License photo credit: burntfilm

Share this link!

1 Comment

  1. Thank you, I have recently been searching for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have discovered so far.

Comments are closed.