Australian Open 2011 Men’s Singles: Past Champions

The 2011 Australian Open Men’s singles main draw begins on Monday 17 January and concludes with the Men’s Singles Final on Sunday 30 January. Roger Federer is the defending champion and is striving to win his 5th Australian Open crown. Rafael Nadal is going for his fourth consecutive Grand Slam to complete a *SuperRafa Slam.

Juan Martin del Potro, Novak Djokovic, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Andy Roddick and Lleyton Hewitt are all Grand Slam singles champions who are entered into the 2011 tournament. Del Potro who won the 2009 US Open title used his protected ranking to gain entry into the main draw after being injured for almost the entire 2010 season. In fact, every man who is ranked in the Top 100 is entered to compete in the 2011 event making it the strongest possible field.

The men’s singles trophy is called the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup. 25 different men have won the Singles title during the past 41 years in the Open-era, which began in 1969. The most recent Australian to win this title was Mark Edmondson in 1976. This January will make that 35 years ago, a record which Australians would not be proud of.

Can anyone become a first-time Grand Slam champion in January? Absolutely yes! There a many players who have the ability to be a potential winner. One of the really interesting things to watch will be whether any of these potential winners has made any significant progress into learning how to maximise their likelihood of success in a Grand Slam.

The last man to win the his very first Grand Slam singles title at the Australian Open was Novak Djokovic pictured above just after making contact with the ball during his service motion. Djokovic was the runner-up at the last Grand Slam tournament – the 2010 US Open.

For more details about the 2011 Australian Open, the prize money and ranking points awarded for each round and the schedule of play for the entire tournament click

The highest ranked men at the end of 2010 who have not won a Grand Slam singles title are:

  1. World No.4 Andy Murray (twice a runner-up including Australian Open 2010)
  2. No.5 Robin Soderling (twice a runner-up including Roland Garros 2010)
  3. No.6 Tomas Berdych (runner-up at Wimbledon 2010)
  4. No.7 David Ferrer, No.9 Fernando Verdasco, No.10 Mikhail Youzhny, No.11 Jurgen Melzer, No.12 Gael Monfils who have all made it to the semi finals before; and
  5. No.13 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (a runner-up at the 2008 Australian Open).

The following is the list of Open-era men’s singles champions at the Australian Open:

  • 2011 Who do YOU think will win?
  • 2010 Roger Federer
  • 2009 Rafael Nadal
  • 2008 Novak Djokovic
  • 2007 Roger Federer
  • 2006 Roger Federer
  • 2005 Marat Safin
  • 2004 Roger Federer
  • 2003 Andre Agassi
  • 2002 Thomas Johansson
  • 2001 Andre Agassi
  • 2000 Andre Agassi
  • 1999 Yevgeny Kafelnikov
  • 1998 Petr Korda
  • 1997 Pete Sampras
  • 1996 Boris Becker
  • 1995 Andre Agassi
  • 1994 Pete Sampras
  • 1993 Jim Courier
  • 1992 Jim Courier
  • 1991 Boris Becker
  • 1990 Ivan Lendl
  • 1989 Ivan Lendl
  • 1988 Mats Wilander
  • 1987 January Stefan Edberg
  • 1986 Not held
  • 1985 November Stefan Edberg
  • 1984 Mats Wilander
  • 1983 Mats Wilander
  • 1982 Johan Kriek
  • 1981 Johan Kriek
  • 1980 Brian Teacher
  • 1979 Guillermo Vilas
  • 1978 Guillermo Vilas
  • 1977 December Vitas Gerulaitis
  • 1977 January Roscoe Tanner
  • 1976 Mark Edmondson
  • 1975 John Newcombe
  • 1974 Jimmy Connors
  • 1973 John Newcombe
  • 1972 Ken Rosewell
  • 1971 Ken Rosewall
  • 1970 Arthur Ashe
  • 1969 Rod Laver

*SuperRafa Slam is the name first given to the possible non-calendar Grand Slam by Rafael Nadal by

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: mbevis

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Australian Open 2011 Men's Singles: Past Champions | TENNIS …US Open Live | US Open Live
  2. marat safin the best | Best of Tennis

Comments are closed.