Australian Open 2011 Women’s Singles: Past Champions

The 2011 Australian Open Women’s singles main draw begins on Monday 17 January and concludes with the Women’s Singles Final on Saturday 29 January. Serena Williams is the defending champion and was going for 3 straight Australian Open victory. Serena has won 5 of the past 8 Australian Open singles titles but officially withdrew from the 2011 event on November 25 due to a second operation on her foot.

Of the Top 100 world ranked women, Serena Williams is joined by Agnes Szavay as the only 2 players unable to compete for the title. This means that the excitement factor should increase and the ferociousness of the competition by the players should be very high, making for a great women’s event. Only Justine Henin and Maria Sharapova have won the Australian Open before from the 2011 field.

Can anyone become a first-time Grand Slam champion in January? Absolutely yes! There a many players who have the ability to be a potential winner. One of the really interesting things to watch will be whether any of these potential winners has made any significant progress into learning how to maximise their likelihood of success in a Grand Slam.

The last woman to win the her very first Grand Slam singles title at the Australian Open was Amelie Mauresmo in 2006 pictured above just after making contact with the ball with her single handed backhand return of serve. Mauresmo achieved the World No.1 ranking and won Wimbledon as well before retiring. The following women will be leading the pack to win their first Grand Slam singles title at the 2011 Australian Open:

  1. World No.1 Caroline Wozniacki (runner-up 2009 US Open),
  2. No.2 Vera Zvonareva (twice a runner-up 2010 Wimbledon and 2010 US Open),
  3. No.6 Samantha Stosur (runner-up 2010 Roland Garros) and
  4. No.8 Jelena Jankovic (runner-up 2008 US Open).

The above 4 women will have plenty of competition with Grand Slam singles champions Kim Clijsters, Venus Williams, Francesca Schiavone, Justine Henin, Ana Ivanovic, Maria Sharapova and Svetlana Kuznetsova all looking to add to their Grand Slam collections.

The women’s singles trophy is called the Daphne Ackhurst Memorial Cup. Only 19 different women have won the singles title during the past 41 years in the Open-era, which began in 1969. The most recent Australian to win this title was Chris O’Neil in 1978. This January will make that 33 years ago, a record which Australians would not be proud of.

For more details about the 2011 Australian Open, the prize money and ranking points awarded for each round and the schedule of play for the entire tournament click here.

The following is the list of Open-era women’s singles champions at the Australian Open:

  • 2011 Who do YOU think will it be???
  • 2010 Serena Williams
  • 2009 Serena Williams
  • 2008 Maria Sharapova
  • 2007 Serena Williams
  • 2006 Amelie Mauresmo
  • 2005 Serena Williams
  • 2004 Justine Henin
  • 2003 Serena Williams
  • 2002 Jennifer Capriati
  • 2001 Jennifer Capriati
  • 2000 Lindsay Davenport
  • 1999 Martina Hingis
  • 1998 Martina Hingis
  • 1997 Martina Hingis
  • 1996 Monica Seles
  • 1995 Mary Pierce
  • 1994 Steffi Graf
  • 1993 Monica Seles
  • 1992 Monica Seles
  • 1991 Monica Seles
  • 1990 Steffi Graf
  • 1989 Steffi Graf
  • 1988 Steffi Graf
  • 1987 Hana Mandlikova
  • 1986 Not held
  • 1985 Martina Navratilova
  • 1984 Chris Evert
  • 1983 Martina Navratilova
  • 1982 Chris Evert
  • 1981 Martina Navratilova
  • 1980 Hana Mandlikova
  • 1979 Barbara Jordan
  • 1978 Chris O’Neil
  • 1977 December Evonne Goolagong
  • 1977 January Kerry Melville
  • 1976 Evonne Goolagong
  • 1975 Evonne Goolagong
  • 1974 Evonne Goolagong
  • 1973 Margaret Court
  • 1972 Virginia Wade
  • 1971 Margaret Court
  • 1970 Margaret Court
  • 1969 Margaret Court

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2010

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit: brewz

Share this link!

1 Comment

5 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. “quixote studios”: ‘The Amazing Race’ crowns Nat Strand and Kat Chang champions |
  2. ‘The Amazing Race’ crowns Nat Strand and Kat Chang champions | Recent News Today | We Give You Actual News World
  3. Australian Open 2011 Women's Singles: Past Champions | TENNIS …US Open Live | US Open Live
  4. 1999 Mens Australian Open Final | Junior Tennis Australia
  5. The Great World Of Tennis: Benefits And Facts | Tennis Training Aids

Comments are closed.