Australian Open 2012 Draw: Men

Alexandr Dolgopolov forehand US OpenThe 2012 Australian Open men’s main draw singles matches begin on Monday 16 January at 11am local time in Melbourne, Australia. There are 128 main draw spots divided up between 16 Qualifiers (Q), 8 Wild Cards (WC) and 104 Direct Acceptances. The Australian Open schedule works on an alternate day plan, this means because the bottom half of the draw is being played on Day 1 the top half of the draw is being played on Day 2. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from the time in Melbourne.

The seeded players do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of a Grand Slam event. To win the title a player must win seven consecutive best of 5-set matches in a row. Being seeded means that the earliest round that you can meet another seeded player is in the 3rd round in which only 32 players remain. The 32 seeded players are drawn to play against unseeded players who are ranked lower than they are in the first two rounds.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. Click this link for all of the details YOU need about the 2012 Australian Open, including the FULL schedules of play and how YOU can buy Australian Open Official tennis tickets.

Pictured above is 2011 Australian Open quarter finalist Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV in the forward swing phase of this forehand ground stroke at the 2011 US Open. The 23-year-old Dolgopolov from the Ukraine is a Grand Slam champion in the making. The 1.83m Dolgopolov’s greater use of more of the possible biomechanical principles that apply to ALL movements, motions and techniques OnCourt for stroke production give him an Advantage!

The No.13 seed achieved his career-high and current ranking of No.13 on 16 January 2012 after making the 2012 Brisbane International singles final before losing to the same player who knocked him out of the 2011 Australian Open – Andy Murray. The good news for the right hander who uses a double-handed backhand is the only way he can play Murray this year is in the final and I wouldn’t be surprised if he does precisely that. Did you know that when he first came on tour his name was Oleksandr Dolgopolov Junior?

Marin Cilic who was the No.20 seed when the draw was made, withdrew after not recovering in time from his knee injury. Listed in the full draw below as his replacement is Rik De Voest as a lucky loser (LL). De Voest was chosen as the replacement above any one else to be the lucky loser because he was the highest seeded player to lose in the final round of qualifying at No.11 who signed in for singles main draw.

The draw for the seeded players IF they ALL win through to the 3rd round is:

  • Novak DJOKOVIC (1) versus (29) Radek STEPANEK
  • Milos RAONIC (23) v (15) Andy RODDICK
  • Janko TIPSAREVIC (9) v (17) Richard GASQUET
  • Juan Ignacio CHELA (27) v (5) David FERRER
  • Andy MURRAY (4) v (32) Alex BOGOMOLOV Jnr.
  • Viktor TROICKI (19) v (14) Gael MONFILS
  • Gilles SIMON (12) v (24) Kei NISHIKORI
  • Marcel GRANOLLERS (26) v (6) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA

Above are the match ups for the top half of the draw and below is the bottom half of the draw:

  • Mardy FISH (8) v (25) Juan MONACO
  • Marin CILIC (20) v (11) Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  • Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (13) v (22) Fernando VERDASCO
  • Jurgen MELZER (31) v (3) Roger FEDERER
  • Tomas BERDYCH (7) v (30) Kevin ANDERSON
  • Stanislas WAWRINKA (21) v (10) Nicolas ALMAGRO
  • John ISNER (16) v (18) Feliciano LOPEZ
  • Ivan LJUBICIC (28) v (2) Rafael NADAL

The highlighted names above represent the possible quarter final match-ups according to seedings i.e. Djokovic v Ferrer, Murray v Tsonga, Fish v Federer and Berdych v Nadal. The possible semi final match ups according to seedings are Djokovic v Murray and Federer v Nadal.

The 2011 Australian Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round  is:

  1. Novak DJOKOVIC (1) v Paolo LORENZI
  2. Santiago GIRALDO v (Q) Matteo VIOLA
  3. Tatsuma ITO (WC) v Potito STARACE
  4. Nicolas MAHUT v (29) Radek STEPANEK
  5. Milos RAONIC (23) v Filippo VOLANDRI
  6. Lukas ROSOL v Philipp PETZSCHNER
  7. Cedrik-Marcel STEBE v (WC) Lleyton HEWITT
  8. Robin HAASE v (15) Andy RODDICK
  9. Janko TIPSAREVIC (9) v Dmitry TURSUNOV
  10. Jurgen ZOPP (Q) v (WC) James DUCKWORTH
  11. Mikhail YOUZHNY v (Q) Andrey GOLUBEV
  12. Andreas SEPPI v (17) Richard GASQUET
  13. Juan Ignacio CHELA (27) v Michael RUSSEL
  14. Igor KUNITSYN v Pablo ANDUJAR
  15. Matthias BACHINGER v Ryan SWEETING
  16. Rui MACHADO v (5) David FERRER
  17. Andy MURRAY (4) v Ryan HARRISON
  18. Xavier MALISSE v Edouard ROGER-VASSELIN
  19. Michael LLODRA, v Ernests GULBIS
  20. Daniel GIMENO-TRAVER v (32) Alex BOGOMOLOV Jnr.
  21. Viktor TROICKI (19) v Juan Carlos FERRERO
  22. Guillermo GARCIA-LOPEZ v Mikhail KUKUSHKIN
  23. Thomaz BELLUCCI v Dudi SELA
  24. Marinko MATOSEVIC (WC) v (14) Gael MONFILS
  25. Gilles SIMON (12) v (Q) Danai UDOMCHOKE
  26. Julien BENNETEAU v Karol BECK
  27. Joao SOUZA v Matthew EBDEN
  28. Stephane ROBERT v (24) Kei NISHIKORI
  29. Marcel GRANOLLERS (26) v Jesse LEVINE
  30. Frederico GIL v Ivan DODIG
  31. Roberto BAUTISTA-AGUT v Ricardo MELLO
  32. Denis ISTOMIN v (6) Jo-Wilfried TSONGA

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Mardy FISH (8) v Gilles MULLER
  2. Alejandro FALLA v Fabio FOGNINI
  3. Albert MONTANES v Pere RIBA
  4. Philipp KOHLSCHREIBER v (25) Juan MONACO
  5. Cilic (20) Rik DE VOEST (LL) v LU Yen-Hsun
  6. Florent SERRA (Q) v Steve  DARCIS
  7. James WARD (Q) v Blaz KAVCIC
  8. Adrian MANNARINO v (11) Juan Martin DEL POTRO
  9. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (13) v (WC) Greg JONES
  10. Tobias KAMKE v Victor HANESCU
  11. Kenny DE SCHEPPER (WC) v Sam QUERREY
  12. Bernard TOMIC v (22) Fernando VERDASCO
  13. Jurgen MELZER (31) v Ivo KARLOVIC
  14. Carlos BERLOCQ v (Q) Jesse HUTA GALUNG
  15. Eric PRODON v Andreas BECK
  16. Alexander KUDRYAVTSEV (Q) v (3) Roger FEDERER
  17. Tomas BERDYCH (7) v Albert RAMOS
  18. Olivier ROCHUS v (Q) Bjorn PHAU
  19. Sergiy STAKHOVSKY v (Q) Illya MARCHENKO
  20. Frederik NIELSEN (Q) v (26) Kevin ANDERSON
  21. Stanislas WAWRINKA (21) v Benoit PAIRE
  22. Marcos BAGHDATIS v Benjamin BECKER
  23. Jeremy CHARDY v Grigor DIMITROV
  24. Lukasz KUBOT v (10) Nicolas ALMAGRO
  25. John ISNER (16) v (WC) Benjamin MITCHELL
  26. Jarkko NIEMINEN v David NALBANDIAN
  27. Flavio CIPOLLA v Nikolay DAVYDENKO
  28. Leonardo MAYER v (18) Feliciano LOPEZ
  29. Ivan LJUBICIC (28) v (Q) Lukas LACKO
  30. Peter GOJOWCZYK (Q) v Donald YOUNG
  31. Tommy HAAS v (Q) Denis KUDLA
  32. Alex KUZNETSOV (Q) v (2) Rafael NADAL
OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: Richard van loon


  1. Hi to every one, it’s really fascinating for me to visit this site, it includes very helpful Information.

  2. Hi, assuming if the top 4 go through to the semi finals, would the federer vs nadal match be the first semi final on 26 jan or second semi final on 27 jan?

    Thanks for the help!

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Australian Open Tennis 2012 | OnCourt Advantage
  2. Australian Open 2012 Men’s Singles Draw | OnCourt Advantage
  3. Australian Open 2012 Quarter Finals: Men | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.