Australian Open 2012 Women’s Qualifying Seeding

Vera Zvonareva forehandThe 2012 Australian Open women’s qualifying singles event begins on Thursday 12 January at 10am local time in Melbourne and is scheduled to be completed on Saturday 14 January. The 2012 Australian Open women’s main draw matches commence on Monday 16 January at 11am. To watch the tennis in Singapore minus 3 hours from the local time in Melbourne.

The great news is YOU can attend the entire qualifying event without having to pay for a ticket. Yes, it is free entry for the entire qualifying event so don’t miss it! In this post OnCourt Advantagewill provide the details of who the 24 seeds are in the women’s qualifying event, what country they represent and more interesting qualifying event info.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. Click this link for details about how you can buy Australian Open Official tennis tickets you will also find to the FULL details about: prize money and WTA ranking points earned per round plus far more details about the qualifying event.

The 24 seeds in the qualifying are the highest 24 ranked players who were accepted into the qualifying event at the cut-off date (5 December 2011) according to the latest WTA women’s rankings (9 January 2012). The 24 seeds listed below are seeded to meet each other in “The Qualifying Round”. The Qualifying Round is the final round that decides which 12 players qualify for the main draw. 

To qualify for the main draw you must win three straight best of three-set matches. The first two sets are tiebreak sets and the final set is an advantage set. In an advantage set, if the set score is tied at six games all the players continue to play until one player gains a two game advantage. The seeded players have all been separated in the draw so that they all play their first two matches against players who are ranked lower than they are.

Pictured above is 2011 Australian Open semi finalist Vera ZVONAREVA capturing her great relaxed yet focused concentration as she is in the forward swing phase of her favourite shot – the forehand drive. The 27-year-old Russian defeated Petra Kvitova in the quarter finals 6-2, 6-4 to equal her best result at the Australian Open and make her second semi final in Melbourne in the past three years.

The following is the list of the 24 seeds for the 2012 Australian Open women’s qualifying singles event. The first 12 players names are bolded because according to seeding they are seeded to be the 12 players who qualify. How many of the Top 12 seeds do YOU think will actually qualify this year? At the 2011 Australian Open only the Top 2 seeds of the Top 12 seeded women qualified, which means lower ranked players in the three rounds of qualifying matches upset ten of the Top 12 seeded players.

  1. Vesna DOLONTS Russia
  2. Akgul AMANMURADOVA Uzbekistan
  3. Andrea HLAVACKOVA Czech Republic
  4. Aranxta PARRA SANTONJA Spain
  5. Alexandra PANOVA Russia
  6. Misaki DOI Japan
  8. Regina KULIKOVA Russia
  9. Valeria SAVINYKH Russia
  10. Anastasia PIVOVAROVA Russia
  11. Varvara LEPCHENKO USA
  12. Erika SEMA Japan
  13. Mirjana LUCIC Croatia
  14. Laura ROBSON Great Britain
  15. Caroline GARCIA France
  16. Nina BRATCHIKOVA Russia
  17. Alison RISKE USA
  18. Tetiana LUZHANSKA USA
  19. Yvonne MEUSBURGER Austria
  20. Stefanie VOEGELE Switzerland
  21. Timea BABOS Hungary
  22. Sesil KARATANTCHEVA Kazakhstan
  23. Jamie HAMPTON USA
  24. Kristina MLADENOVIC France
OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: sr_cranks

Share this link!


Comments are closed.