Australian Open 2014 Prize Money: Women

Victoria Azarenka at Australian OpenThe 2014 Australian Open women’s main draw singles event begins on Monday 13 January. The big match that every player wants to participate in – the Women’s Singles Final, will be played on Saturday 25 January.

In 2013, the 11-time Australian Open singles champion – Margaret Court presented the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup to Victoria Azarenka in recognition of the the 24-time Grand Slam singles champions final Australian singles title four decades earlier. 

Below OnCourt Advantage lists what prize money is awarded to the women for every round throughout the tournament to detail how the money is divided up.

For details about the historic record breaking prize money offered by the Australian Open visit the men’s version of the Men’s Australian Open 2014 Prize Money post.

This is how the prize money is awarded for the 2014 women’s singles draw:

  1. The winner earns A$ 2,430,000;
  2. The runner-up earns A$ 1,215,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn A$ 500,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn A$ 250,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn A$ 125,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn A$ 71,000;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn A$ 45,500; and
  8. The 64 players who lose in the 1st round earn A$ 27,600.

© photo credit: Wilson Tennis 

Share this link!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Australian Open 2014 | OnCourt Advantage - Tennis: Live it, Learn it, Love it!

Comments are closed.