Australian Open 2015 Draw: Men’s Singles

Stanislas Wawrinka 2014 Australian Open champion

The 2015 Australian Open main draw men’s singles matches will begin on Monday 19 January at 11am local time in Melbourne. When the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected are all covered below.

The official Australian Open main draw ceremony was held on Friday 16 January at 10am on the steps at Margaret Court Arena, providing a greater celebration of tennis and Australian Open connection than last year when the draw was held at the Crown Casino, Riverside in Melbourne, Victoria.

Composition of The Draw:

The men’s singles draw has a 128-player draw consisting of 16 Qualifiers, 8 Wildcards and 104 Direct Acceptances. The direct acceptances are the highest 104 ranked players in the world at the cut-off date who are fit enough to compete. The cut-off date is six weeks prior to the main draw commencing, which was 8 December 2014.

The Seeds:

The highest ranked 32 players according to the ATP Tour singles rankings one week prior to the 1st round commencing i.e. 12 January, 2015, become The Seeds.

A seeding is allocated to the 32 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP Tour rankings before the draw is made i.e. the Monday prior to the 1st round commencing, so Monday 12 January 2015.

There are 32 seeded players in a 128-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the 3rd round. If any of the seeded players withdraw after the draw has been made, then the 33rd highest ranked player becomes a seed, then the 34th player and so on.

The Wildcards:

All of the 8 wildcard recipients will be confirmed before Tuesday 8 January as the qualifying singles event will be drawn that day. The names of the wildcards must be removed from the participating players list in the qualifying singles event before the official draw commences.

The Qualifiers:

The 128-player qualifying tournament was held on Wednesday 14 January and run through to Saturday 17 January. The 16 qualifiers names are then added to the draw once the qualifying singles tournament is completed. The final completion of the draw is when the qualifiers are added into the 1st round and is usually announced by 5pm the day before the 1st round commences.


When a main draw direct acceptance withdraws from the Australian Open after the first round of qualifying has been completed, that available spot in the draw is awarded to a lucky loser.

Any player that loses in the final round of qualifying and then signs-in for the singles main draw is eligible to receive a lucky loser spot into the main draw. The lucky loser spots are awarded in order of highest ranked player to the lowest, hence the term, despite losing they are lucky to still compete in the main draw.

© photo credit: Yonex. Please “Like” the Yonex Facebook page and “Follow” @yonex_com on Twitter