Australian Open 2010 Women’s Champion

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:墨尔本小强

The Australian Women’s Singles Champion for 2010 is the No.1 seed Serena Williams (pictured above), who successfully defended her title having won this tournament in 2009. Serena is the first woman to win back-to-back Australian Open singles titles since American Jennifer Capriati in 2001-2002.

The Women’s Singles Final was a very entertaining match with both players having opportunities to take the match into their hands. Two great champions in women’s tennis went after each other in the Championship match and both had streaks of dominating their opponent.

As we specifically pointed out in our Women’s final preview (click this link to read Australian Open 2010 Women’s Singles Final), the clear trend in their head to head matches continued where the player wins the 1st set wins the match. This has now occurred in 13 of their 14 battles.

Serena served better, was more determined to hang in there and was the smarter player on the day. Justine Henin had her chances but in the end went down 6-4, 3-6, 6-2 in 2 hours and 7 minutes. The 27 year old Belgian’s comeback in just her 2nd tournament has returned 2 runner-up results.

Henin is now 7 wins to 5 losses in Grand Slam Singles Finals and was unable to emulate the Wild Card comeback win that her fellow Belgian Kim Clijsters achieved at the 2009 US Open. Henin won 1.1 million Australian dollars and 1,400 WTA ranking points as the runner-up.

Henin has now compiled 1600 points from just 2 tournaments, which would have her ranked as the World No.38. However, Henin has 1 more event to win points from before she can attain an official WTA ranking.

The unranked Henin has won the French Open 4 times so it will be very interesting at the next Grand Slam to see how she performs. The Australian Open runner up would be the early favourite given she has dominated the French Open in the past whereas Serena’s worst Grand Slam record is at Roland Garros.

Serena now has 5 Australian Open singles titles to her credit, which is second only to the record of 11 by Margaret Court. Court presented the women’s trophies on the 40 year anniversary of winning THE GRAND SLAM back in 1970. Serena won 2.1 million Australian dollars and 2,000 WTA ranking points.

Serena now has 12 Grand Slam singles titles, which ties her with Billie Jean King. Serena has won those titles from 1999 to 2010 and King won them from 1966-1975. The following 5 players have won more Grand Slam Singles titles than Serena and the time frame in which they won them is in brackets next to these players’ names.

  1. 18 to Chris Evert (1974-1986);
  2. 18 to Martina Navratilova (1978-1990);
  3. 19 to Helen Wills Moody (1923-1938);
  4. 22 to Steffi Graf (1987-1999); and
  5. 24 to Margaret Court (1960-1973).

Let’s hope for more showdowns between Henin and Williams in quarter or semi finals of WTA Tour tournaments this year and surely we will see Justine Henin’s name in the Top 10 rankings list soon. Now that the Australian Open is completed the new Top 10 WTA Rankings as at 1 February 2010 are:

  1. Serena Williams
  2. Dinara Safina
  3. Caroline Wozniacki – moved up 1 spot
  4. Svetlana Kuznetsova – down 1 spot
  5. Venus Williams – up 1 spot
  6. Victoria Azarenka – up 1 spot
  7. Elena Dementieva – down 2 spots
  8. Jelena Jankovic
  9. Agnieszka Radwanska – up 1 spot
  10. Li Na – up 7 spots

Stay tuned to this tennis website for a closer look at how the players in the women’s and men’s finals won and lost AND what they were trying to do against their opponent in order to win.

For more coverage and information about the 2010 Australian Open and click this link -> Australian Open 2010: Jan 13-31

© 2010

Share this link!