Roland Garros 2010 Men’s Singles

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:Lucky B

The Roland Garros Championships are held at Stade Roland Garros which is in the 16th arondissement of Paris, France. Roland Garros is also commonly referred to as the French Open by people outside of Europe and is the 2nd Grand Slam tournament of the year.

Roland Garros was a French aviator who became the 1st man to fly a plane over the Mediterranean Sea (during the 1st World War on September 23 in 1913).

The Roland Garros main draw singles matches begin on Sunday 23 May and run for 15 days. The Men’s Singles Final is held on Sunday 6 June at 3pm local time in Paris.

Roland Garros Stadium has 20 clay courts with the 2 main show courts. The main court, formerly called Court Central was built in 1928 and was renamed in 1998 to honour the head of the French Tennis Federation Philippe Chartrier. Court Philippe Chartrier holds 15,166 spectators.

The 2nd main court was built in 1994 and was renamed in 1997 to honour Suzanne Lenglen who won 12 Grand Slam singles titles from 1914 to 1926  (6 French Open and 6 Wimbledon titles). Lenglen also won the gold medal for France in the women’s singles and mixed doubles at the Antwerp Olympics in 1920. Court Suzanne Lenglen holds 10,068 spectators.

The draw for the Men’s Qualifying Singles Draw will be available later today and the Men’s Singles Draw will be available this Friday 21 May. The qualifying events begins tomorrow. As soon as the draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 Roland Garros singles events.

Last year Roger Federer won the Roland Garros Men’s Singles Championship for the 1st time in his career, which completed his Grand Slam set. Federer defeated Robin Soderling, who the conquered 4 time champion Rafael Nadal.

Federer won the 2009 final 6-1, 7-6 (7-1), 6-4 and for Soderling it was the first time he won through to the singles final of a Grand Slam tournament. Federer earned 2000 ATP ranking points whilst Soderling scored 1200 points.

The 2009 Roland Garros semi finalists were No.12 seed Fernando Gonzalez who lost to Soderling in 5 sets and No.5 seed Juan Martin del Potro who was beaten by Federer in 5 sets. The quarter finalists were Nikolay Davydenko, Andy Murray, Tommy Robredo and Gael Monfils.

In a Grand Slam tournament there are 128 players in the main draw. There are 32 seeded players in a Grand Slam event. This year the seeding will be based on the ATP World Tour rankings once they are updated on 17 May 2010. 104 of the 128 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances.

The remaining 24 spots are broken into 2 categories: wild card entrants (WC) and qualifiers (Q). There are 8 wild cards and 16 spots for qualifiers. The men’s qualifying event is a mini knock out tournament consisting of 128 players. Only 16 players who each win 3 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw. Qualifying is held from Tuesday 18 May through to Friday 21 May.

The Federation Francaise de Tennis or in English, the French Tennis Federation (FFT) announced who they chose to give this years wild cards to on Tuesday 13 May. They chose the following 6 French men: David Guez, Nicolas Mahut, Gianni Mina, Josselin Ouanna, Laurent Recouderc and Edouard Roger-Vasselin.

The final 2 Wild Cards are used in a reciprocal arrangement with 2 of the other 3 Grand Slam tournaments; the US Open and the Australian Open. Therefore, Tennis Australia and the United States Tennis Association are able to chose 1 Wild Card entrant each.

The Americans allocated their wild card to Ryan Sweeting and the Australian wild card is Carsten Ball. This arrangement gives the FFT a wild card into the Main Draw Singles at these 2 events in return.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Roland Garros Championships for both the men’s and women’s events. Click this link for more details -> Roland Garros: French Open 2010 May 18 – June 6.

© 2010