Roland Garros 2010 Women’s Singles

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:myprofe

The Roland Garros Championships are held at Stade Roland Garros which is in the 16th arondissement of Paris, France. Roland Garros is also commonly referred to as the French Open by people outside of Europe and is the 2nd Grand Slam tournament of the year.

The Roland Garros women’s main draw singles matches begin on Sunday 23 May and run for 15 days. The Women’s Singles Final is held on Saturday 6 June at 3pm local time in Paris.

The draw for the Women’s Qualifying Singles Draw will be available tomorrow with these matches beginning on Wednesday 19 May. The Women’s Singles Draw will be available this Friday 21 May. As soon as the draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 Roland Garros singles events.

Last year No.7 seed Svetlana Kuznetsova won the Roland Garros Women’s Singles Championship for the 1st time in her career after being a runner-up in 2006. Kuznetsova who is pictured above, defeated No.1 seed Dinara Safina 6-4 6-2 in 1 hour and 14 minutes earning 2000 WTA ranking points whilst Safina scored 1400 points.

The 2009 Roland Garros semi finalists were No.20 seed Dominika Cibulkova who lost to Safina and No.30 seed Samantha Stosur who was beaten by Kuznetsova. The quarter finalists were No.9 seed Victoria Azarenka, Maria Sharapova, Sorana Cirstea and No.2 seed Serena Williams.

In a Grand Slam tournament there are 128 players in the main draw. There are 32 seeded players in a Grand Slam event. This year the seeding will be based on the WTA Tour rankings once they are updated on 17 May 2010. 108 of the 128 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances.

The remaining 20 spots are broken into 2 categories: wild card entrants (WC) and qualifiers (Q). There are 8 wild cards and 12 spots for qualifiers. The women’s qualifying event is a mini knock out tournament consisting of 96 players. Only 12 players who each win 3 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw. Qualifying is held from Wednesday 19 May through to Saturday 22 May.

The Federation Francaise de Tennis or in English, the French Tennis Federation (FFT) announced who they chose to give this years wild cards to on Tuesday 13 May. They chose the following 6 French women: Stephanie Cohen-Aloro, Claire Feuerstein, Stephanie Foretz, Mathilde Johansson, Kristina Mladenovic and Olivia Sanchez.

The final 2 Wild Cards are used in a reciprocal arrangement with 2 of the other 3 Grand Slam tournaments; the US Open and the Australian Open. Therefore, Tennis Australia and the United States Tennis Association are able to chose 1 Wild Card entrant each.

The Americans allocated their wild card to Christina McHale and the Australian wild card is Jarmila Groth. This arrangement gives the FFT a wild card into the Main Draw Singles at these 2 events in return.

Roland Garros was a French aviator who became the 1st man to fly a plane over the Mediterranean Sea (during the 1st World War on September 23 in 1913).

Roland Garros Stadium has 20 clay courts with the 2 main show courts. The main court, formerly called Court Central was built in 1928 and was renamed in 1998 to honour the head of the French Tennis Federation Philippe Chartrier. Court Philippe Chartrier holds 15,166 spectators.

The 2nd main court was built in 1994 and was renamed in 1997 to honour Suzanne Lenglen who won 12 Grand Slam singles titles from 1914 to 1926 (6 French Open and 6 Wimbledon titles).

Lenglen also won the gold medal for France in the women’s singles and mixed doubles at the Antwerp Olympics in 1920. Court Suzanne Lenglen holds 10,068 spectators.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Roland Garros Championships for both the men’s and women’s events. Click this link for more details -> Roland Garros: French Open 2010 May 18 – June 6.

© 2010