Roland Garros 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Roland Garros Championships in Paris, France also known as the French Open, is the 2nd Grand Slam tournament of 2011. Roland Garros is the 9th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour each year.

The women’s event begins on May 17 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 4 June. Roland Garros is the 3rd and final prestigious women’s clay court tournament of each year.

In this post how the WTA ranking points, prize money are allocated and what the schedule of play is for the women’s singles draw will be covered. The total financial commitment by this tournament is 7,780,000 Euros (€) with the total prize money for the women’s singles event being € 6,032,000 Euros. The winner of the Women’s Singles Final at Roland Garros takes home € 1.2 million.

Click this link to follow this site in real time on Twitter @OnCourtAd and click this link to join the friends of this site on Facebook OnCourt Advantage.

Pictured above is defending Roland Garros women’s singles champion Francesca Schiavone JUST after making contact with the ball for this forehand ground stroke at the 2011 Sony Ericsson Miami Open. The 30-year-old Schiavone has made the quarter finals of all four Grand Slam singles tournaments since the 2009 Wimbledon event and obviously went on to win at Roland Garros in 2010. The 1.66m Schiavone became the very first Italian woman to win a Grand Slam singles title.

The current World No.5 won in 4 hours and 44 minutes against dual Grand Slam singles champion Svetlana Kuznetsova in the 2011 Australian Open to advance to the quarter finals against Caroline Wozniacki. Subsequently, Schiavone achieved her career high singles ranking to date by moving to No.4 on 31 January 2011.

The WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + € 1,200,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + € 600,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + € 300,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + € 150,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + € 75,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + € 42,ooo;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + € 25,000;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + € 15,000.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn € 2,500 Euros and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn € 4,000 Euros and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn € 8,000 Euros and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying. Which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session starting at 11am unless stated otherwise below. There are no night sessions. The first four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update them here straight away.

The 2011 schedule of play for the women’s singles event at Roland Garros is:

  • Tuesday 17 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 18 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Thursday 19 May: Qualifying 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 20 May: Qualifying 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 22 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Monday 23 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Tuesday 24 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 25 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Thursday 26 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 27 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Saturday 28 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 29 May: Round of 16 from 11am;
  • Monday 30 May: Round of 16 from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 31 May: Quarter Finals from 2pm;
  • Wednesday 1 June: Quarter Finals from 2pm;
  • Thursday 2 June: Semi Finals from 2pm; and
  • Saturday 4 June: The Women’s Singles Final at 3:00pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Roland Garros 2011: May 17-June 5.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Mark Howard Photography


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Roland Garros 2011 Women’s Singles Final | OnCourt Advantage

Comments are closed.