Roland Garros 2010 Men’s Schedule of Play

The 2010 Roland Garros Championships in Paris, France also known as the French Open, is the 2nd Grand Slam tournament of 2010. Roland Garros is the 8th Major Tournament for the men’s professional tennis tour this year. The men’s event begins tomorrow with the qualifying draw and the Men’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 6 June. Roland Garros is the 4th and final prestigious clay court tournament for this year.

In this post we will cover how the ATP Tour ranking points, prize money are allocated and what the schedule of play is for the men’s singles draw. The total financial commitment by this tournament is 16,807,400 million Euros (€) with the total prize money for the men’s events being €8,403,700 Euros. The winner of the Men’s Singles Final at Roland Garros takes home €1.12 million.

Pictured above is the 2009 Roland Garros men’s singles runner-up Robin Soderling who lost the final to Roger Federer. Soderling who is pictured above with the runner-up trophy is the only player to beat Rafael Nadal at Roland Garros. The 25-year-old Swede has had a great 12 months since then; he has defeated both Nadal and Federer making him a real chance for this year’s title.

The ATP ranking points and prize money (in Euros) for the men’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + €1,120,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,200 points + €560,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 720 points + €280,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 360 points + €140,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 180 points + €70,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 90 points + €42,ooo;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 45 points + €25,000;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 10 points + €15,000.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn €2,000 but do NOT receive any ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn €4,000 and 8 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn €8,000 and 14 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 35 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 10 points.

The matches each day are played in a day session starting at 11am unless stated otherwise below. There are no night sessions. The 1st four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes right here in this post.

The schedule of play for the men’s singles event at Roland Garros is:

  • Tuesday 18 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 19 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Thursday 20 May: Qualifying 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 21 May: Qualifying 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 23 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Monday 24 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Tuesday 25 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 26 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Thursday 27 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 28 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Saturday 29 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 30 May: 4th round from 11am;
  • Monday 31 May: 4th round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 1 June: Quarter Finals from 11am;
  • Wednesday 2 June: Quarter Finals from 2pm;
  • Friday 4 June: Semi Finals from 2pm; and
  • Sunday 6 June: The Men’s Singles Final at 3:00pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Roland Garros: French Open 2010 May 18 – June 6.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: nicogenin

Share this link!