Roland Garros Women’s Schedule of Play

The 7th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is the Roland Garros Championships in Paris, France. The 2nd Grand Slam event of the year begins today for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 5 June. Roland Garros is the 3rd and final prestigious clay court tournament for this year.

In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the women’s singles draw. The total financial commitment by this tournament is 16,807,400 million Euros with the total prize money for the women’s events being 8,403,700 Euros. The winner of the women’s singles final at Roland Garros takes home 1.12 million Euros.

Pictured above is the 2009 Roland Garros women’s singles runner-up Dinara Safina on the full run and just after making contact with the ball for this forehand drive. The 1.82m Safina has made the final of 3 Grand Slam singles events, the 2009 Australian Open and back to back French Open finals in 2008 & 2009.

The 24-year-old Russian will be doing her absolute best to make it 3rd time lucky at Roland Garros this year. The former World No.1 is currently ranked No.9 and the pressure is really on her. An early exit will see her drop out of the Top 20.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in Euros) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + $1,120,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + $560,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + $280,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + $140,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + $70,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + $42,ooo;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + $25,000;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $15,000.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn 2,200 Euros and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn 4,000 Euros and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn 8,000 Euros and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying. Which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session starting at 11am unless stated otherwise below. There are no night sessions. The 1st four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the women’s singles event at Roland Garros is:

  • Wednesday 19 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Thursday 20 May: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Friday 21 May: Qualifying 2nd round from 11am;
  • Saturday 22 May: Qualifying 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 23 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Monday 24 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Tuesday 25 May: Main Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 26 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Thursday 27 May: 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 28 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Saturday 29 May: 3rd round from 11am;
  • Sunday 30 May: 4th round from 11am;
  • Monday 31 May: 4th round from 12 noon;
  • Tuesday 1 June: Quarter Finals from 2pm;
  • Wednesday 2 June: Quarter Finals from 2pm;
  • Thursday 3 June: Semi Finals from 2pm; and
  • Saturday 5 June: The Women’s Singles Final at 3:00pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about Roland Garros for both the men’s and women’s events. Click this link for more details-> Roland Garros: French Open 2010 May 18 – June 6.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Christian Mesiano

Share this link!

1 Comment

Comments are closed.