US Open 2010 Men’s 1st Round

©photo credit:Philip Ip

The 2010 US Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 30 August at 11am local time in New York (11pm Hong Kong time). There are 128 main draw spots divided up between 16 Qualifiers (Q), 8 Wild Cards (WC) and 104 Direct Acceptances.

The US Open, which is known as The Open is the 4th and final Grand Slam tournament of the year. The Open is the 2nd Grand Slam of the year that is played on hard courts and the only one that plays a 5th set tie-break to decide the match.

Pictured above is 2010 Australian Open singles semi finalist Marin Cilic swinging his racquet forward to drive this backhand ground stroke during the Canadian Open earlier this month. The 21 year old 1.98m Croatian uses the HEAD YouTek Radical Midplus tennis racquet and is currently the World No.13 and has a career high ranking of No.9. If you are in Hong Kong and want one of Marin’s racquets or advice on which racquet would be the best for you to use, just email

Last year Cilic made the quarter finals of the US Open in his best result in New York after knocking out Andy Murray before bowing out to eventual champion Juan Martin del Potro in 4 sets. At the Australian Open this year Cilic defeated del Potro in 5 sets then Andy Roddick in 5 sets before being stopped by Andy Murray. Cilic records his best results on hard courts and will be doing his best to step into del Potro’s shoes this year.

Since Wimbledon 2001 the Grand Slam tournaments have seeded the Top 32 ranked players in the singles events to meet in the 3rd round. Prior to that there were only 16 seeds in the Grand Slams, which used to ensure that the seeded players did not player each other until the round of 16.

The US Open 2010 will feature more men’s tennis than anything else. This is because all of the best players will battle it out in the best out of 5 sets format as opposed to the usual best out of 3 sets format used for all non-Grand Slam tournaments on the ATP Tour.

The seeded players do not receive a BYE in the 1st round of a Grand Slam event. To win the title a player must win 7 best of 5 set matches in a row. For further details about the men’s event you can visit -> US Open 2010 Men’s Schedule of Play and US Open 2010 Men’s Singles Draw.

The United States Tennis Association (USTA) chose to give 6 of the 8 wild cards to Americans and a different 6 men than last year; Donald Young, Bradley Klahn, Jack Sock, Tim Smyczek, James Blake and Ryan Sweeting.

The final 2 Wild Cards are used in a reciprocal arrangement with 2 other Grand Slam tournaments; Roland Garros and the Australian Open. Therefore, Tennis Australia and the French Tennis Federation are able to choose 1 Wild Card entrant each into the US Open. The French chose native Guillaume Rufin and the Australians chose Aussie Carsten Ball. This arrangement gives the USTA a Main Draw Wild Card at these 2 events in return.

Being seeded means that you the earliest round in the event that you can meet another seeded player is 3rd round in which only 32 players remain. The bottom half of both the men’s and women’s draws will be played on Day 1 of the main draw singles events. The player’s name that is bolded in the 1st round singles draw below is OCA’s prediction of who will win each match.

The 2010 US Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. (1) Rafael Nadal v. Teimuraz Gabashvili
  2. Maximo Gonzalez v. Denis Istomen
  3. Gilles Simon v. (WC) Donald Young
  4. Tobias Kamke v. (29) Philipp Kohlschreiber
  5. (23) Feliciano Lopez v. Santiago Giraldo
  6. Rainer Schuettler v. (Q) Benoit Paire
  7. Sergiy Stakhovsky v. Peter Luczak
  8. (Q) Ryan Harrison v. (15) Ivan Ljubicic
  9. (10) David Ferrer v. Alexandr Dolgopolov
  10. Benjamin Becker v. Daniel Brands
  11. Jarkko Nieminen v. Daniel Gimeno-Traver
  12. Jeremy Chardy v. (24) Ernests Gulbis
  13. (31) David Nalbandian v. (Q) Rik De Voest
  14. Florent Serra v. Florian Mayer
  15. Pere Riba v. (Q) Adrian Mannarino
  16. Fabio Fognini v. (8) Fernando Verdasco
  17. (4) Andy Murray v. Lukas Lacko
  18. Ruben Ramirez-Hidalgo v. Dustin Brown
  19. Juan Ignacio Chela v. Lu Yen-Hsun
  20. Mikhail Kukushkin v. (25) Stanislas Wawrinka
  21. (20) Sam Querrey v. (WC) Bradley Klahn
  22. Marcel Granollers v. Andreas Seppi
  23. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez v. Lukasz Kubot
  24. Potito Starace v. (14) Nicolas Almagro
  25. (12) Mikhail Youzhny v. Andrey Golubev
  26. Dudi Sela v. Xavier Malisse
  27. (WC) Jack Sock v. Marco Chiudinelli
  28. Frederico Gil v. (18) John Isner
  29. (28) Radek Stepanek v. Julien Benneteau
  30. Tommy Robredo v. (Q) Lukas Rosol
  31. Victor Hanescu v. Carlos Berlocq
  32. Michael Llodra v. (7) Tomas Berdych
  33. (6) Nikolay Davydenko v. Michael Russell
  34. Simon Greul v. Richard Gasquet
  35. Kevin Anderson v. Somdev Devvarman
  36. (WC) Tim Smyczek v. (26) Thomaz Bellucci
  37. (17) Gael Monfils v. (Q) Robert Kendrick
  38. Igor Andreev v. Horacio Zeballos
  39. Janko Tipsarevic v. Olivier Rochus
  40. Stephane Robert v. (9) Andy Roddick
  41. (16) Marcos Baghdatis v. Arnaud Clement
  42. Eduardo Schwank v. Robby Ginepri
  43. Pablo Cuevas v. (Q) Julio Silva
  44. Jan Hajek v. (19) Mardy Fish
  45. (30) Juan Monaco v. (Q) Peter Polansky
  46. Kristof Vliegen v. (WC) James Blake
  47. Philipp Petzschner v. (Q) Dusan Lojda
  48. Viktor Troicki v. (3) Novak Djokovic
  49. (5) Robin Soderling v. (Q) Andreas Haider-Maurer
  50. Taylor Dent v. Alejandro Falla
  51. Thiemo de Bakker v. (Q) Marc Gicquel
  52. (Q) Ivan Dodig v. (27) Fernando Gonzalez
  53. (21) Albert Montanes v. Michal Przysiezny
  54. (WC) Carsten Ball v. (Q) Milos Raonic
  55. (Q) Kei Nishikori v. Evgeny Korolev
  56. Illya Marchenko v. (11) Marin Cilic
  57. (13) Jurgen Melzer v. Dmitry Tursunov
  58. (Q) Ricardas Berankis v. (WC) Ryan Sweeting
  59. Bjorn Phau v. Ricardo Mello
  60. (Q) Martin Klizan v. (22) Juan Carlos Ferrero
  61. (32) Lleyton Hewitt v. Paul-Henri Mathieu
  62. Leonardo Mayer v. (WC) Guillaume Rufin
  63. Michael Berrer v. Andreas Beck
  64. Brian Dabul v. (2) Roger Federer

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the US Open including the schedules of play -> US Open 2010 August 24-September 12.

© 2010