US Open 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 11th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is the US Open. “The Open” as the US Open is commonly called, is held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows-Corona Park in Queens, New York.

Since 1987 the US Open has been the 4th and final Grand Slam tournament played each year. The US Open is unique amongst the 4 Grand Slam events because it is the only Grand Slam that plays a tiebreak to decide the 3rd and final set.

Pictured above is the 2009 US Open Women’s singles runner-up Caroline Wozniacki who is focusing on the ball and driving her legs into this serve. The 1.77m Wozniacki was 19 years old when she made her first Grand Slam singles final.

Wozniacki is from Denmark and has been making her mark on tour this year. At the Australian Open and Wimbledon she equalled her best results by making the round of 16. At Roland Garros this year she made the quarter finals for the first time. She achieved her career high ranking of World No.2 on March 22 this year. Can she win The Open?

This tournament begins on Tuesday 24 August for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 11 September. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Monday 30 August.

In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Women’s Singles Draw.

The total financial commitment for the 2010 US Open tournament is 21,664,000 US dollars with the total prize money for the women’s singles event being $7,465,000. The winner of the Women’s Singles Final at the US Open takes home $1.6 million.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + $1,600,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + $800,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + $350,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + $175,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + $85,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + $48,000;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + $31,000;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $19,000.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $3,000 and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $5,625 and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn $8,000 and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying. Which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session beginning at 11am and a night session starting at 7pm except for on the final two days. For these two days the matches are all played on centre court with play beginning at 1:30pm on semi finals day and 9pm for The Final. The centre court at the US Open is called, Arthur Ashe Stadium.

The 1st four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2010 US Open Women’s Singles event is:

  • Tuesday 24 August: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Wednesday 25 August: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Thursday 26 August: Qualifying 2nd round;
  • Friday 27 August: Qualifying 3rd round;
  • Monday 30 August: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Tuesday 31 August: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Wednesday 1 September: 2nd round;
  • Thursday 2 September: 2nd round;
  • Friday 3 September: 3rd round;
  • Saturday 4 September: 3rd round;
  • Sunday 5 September: 4th round (round of 16);
  • Monday 6 September: 4th round (round of 16);
  • Tuesday 7 September: Quarter Finals;
  • Wednesday 8 September: Quarter Finals;
  • Thursday 9 September: No women’s matches today;
  • Friday 10 September: 1st Semi Final at 1:30pm 2nd Semi Final at 3:30pm; and
  • Saturday 11 September: Women’s Singles Final at 9pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of both the men’s and women’s events at the US Open and the major tournaments prior to the US Open. Click this link for more details -> US Open 2010: August 24-September 12.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: swampa

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. US Open 2010 Women's Schedule of Play : TENNIS: OnCourt Advantage < Read what Young Americans Read
  2. US Open 2010 Women's Schedule of Play | TENNIS: | The Tennis News
  3. My Tennis Circle » US Open 2010 Women's Schedule of Play | TENNIS:

Comments are closed.