US Open 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 US Open is also known as “The Open” and is the 11th of the “Big 14” women’s MAJOR tournaments each year. The US Open is held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows-Corona Park in Queens, New York. To watch the tennis in Singapore add 12 hours from the New York local times listed below.

The US Open begins on Tuesday 23 August at 11am with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Sunday 11 September at 4pm local time in New York in the USA. The 1st round of the main singles draw begins at 11am on Monday 29 August.

Click this link to buy US Open Official tennis tickets. To follow this site in real time click-> Twitter @OnCourtAd and to join the friends of this site click-> Facebook OnCourt Advantage.

The total financial commitment for the 2011 US Open tournament was announced today with another record total that is more than 1 million US dollars higher than in 2010. The total financial commitment is 23.7 million US dollars with an increase of 6.4% for each of the singles events. The winner of the Women’s Singles Final will earn 1.8 million US dollars and as soon as the breakdown of how much will be allocated round-by-round is announced I will update the 2010 prize money figures below.

The US Open has awarded equal prize money to for the men’s and women’s singles events every year since 1973. The Women’s Singles Final at the US Open is played on Arthur Ashe Stadium, which holds 23,700 spectators. Since 1987 the US Open has been the fourth and final Grand Slam tournament played each year.

Pictured above is defending US Open women’s singles champion Kim Clijsters at the 2011 Miami Open in position and prepared to play her best stroke, the double-handed backhand drive. In fact, the former World No.1 has arguably the best cross-court and angle backhand drive in the women’s game.

When the 28-year-old Clijsters won the 2009 US Open she became the first mother to win a Grand Slam singles title since Australian Evonne Goolagong won Wimbledon in 1980. Interestingly, that victory by Goolagong is still the most recent Grand Slam singles title won by an Australian woman.

Clijsters has won four Grand Slam singles titles to date, including the past three US Open’s she has competed in. The 1.74m Belgian is at her best on hard courts and after winning the 2011 Australian Open will be doing everything in her power to win a third Grand Slam singles title from the past five Grand Slam tournaments.

Clijsters is the current World No.2 and defeated current World No.3 Vera Zvonareva in the 2010 US Open final and current World No.1 Caroline Wozniacki in the 2009 US Open final. 

This is how the WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players at the US Open:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + US $1,800,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + $850,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + $400,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + $200,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + $100,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + $50,000;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + $31,000;
  8. The *64 players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $19,000.

*The points awarded to a 1st round loser vary according to how they were allocated a place in the 1st round. A player who qualifies for the main draw and then loses the 1st round earns 60 points. A player who starts in the 1st round and loses his 1st match, only earns 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose in the 1st round are awarded 5 ranking points as well. Men’s wild cards who lose in the 1st round DO NOT receive any points!

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $3,000 and are awarded 2 ranking points, which is 2 more points than men who lose in the 1st round of qualifying receive! The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $5,625 and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn $8,000 and 50 points.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update them here straight away.

The 2011 US Open Women’s schedule of play for the entire event is:

  • Tuesday 23 August: Qualifying Draw 1st round from 11am;
  • Wednesday 24 August: Qualifying 1st round from 11am;
  • Thursday 25 August: Qualifying 2nd round from 11am;
  • Friday 26 August: Qualifying 3rd round from 11am;
  • Monday 29 August: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 30 August: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 31 August: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 1 September: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Friday 2 September: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 3 September: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Sunday 4 September: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Monday 5 September: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 6 September: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 7 September: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 8 September: No women’s singles matches today;
  • Friday 9 September: Semi Finals from 11am; and
  • Saturday 10 September: Women’s Singles Final at 7pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for coverage of every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on both the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the US Open-> US Open 2011 Tennis Championships

© 2011

Creative Commons License photo credit: Mark Howard Photography

Share this link!