Wimbledon 2010 Men’s Singles

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:Squeaky Knees

The Wimbledon Championships are held at The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC), which is in the London suburb of Wimbledon in the United Kingdom. Wimbledon is also commonly referred to as “The Championships” and it is the 3rd Grand Slam tournament of the year.

The Wimbledon 2010 event begins on Monday 14 June for the men’s event with the qualifying draw. The qualifying tournament is NOT held at the AELTC it is held at the Bank of England Sports Ground at Roehampton.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam tournament that does NOT refer to the men as men. Men are referred to as Gentlemen, therefore the Men’s Singles event is called the Gentlemen’s Singles. The Gentlemen’s main draw singles matches at the AELTC begin on Monday 21 June and run for 13 days. The Gentlemen’s Singles Final is held on Sunday 4 July at 2pm local time in London.

The draw for the Gentlemen’s qualifying singles draw will be available on Sunday 13 June. The Gentlemen’s singles main draw is being conducted at 10am on Friday 18 June and as soon as the draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 Wimbledon singles events.

Last year No.2 seed Roger Federer won the Wimbledon Gentlemen’s Singles Championship for the 6th time in his career. Federer who is pictured above, defeated No.6 seed Andy Roddick 5-7, 7-6 (8-6), 7-6 (7-5), 3-6, 16-14 in 4 hours and 16 minutes to earn 2000 ATP ranking points whilst Roddick collected 1200 points.

The 2009 Wimbledon semi finalists were No.3 seed Andy Murray who lost to Roddick and No.24 seed Tommy Haas who was defeated by Federer. The quarter finalists were No.4 seed Novak Djokovic, No.22 seed Ivo Karlovic, and 2 former World No.1’s – Juan Carlos Ferrero and Lleyton Hewitt.

In a Grand Slam tournament there are 128 players in the main draw. There are 32 seeded players in a Grand Slam event. This year the seeding will be announced on Wednesday 16 June at 12noon and it is expected that they will be based on the ATP Tour rankings as at 14 June 2010.

104 of the 128 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances, which is 4 less than the Ladies because the Gentlemen’s event allocates 16 spots for qualifiers, whereas the Ladies have only 12 qualifiers. The direct acceptances are the highest 104 ranked players on the cut-off date. This year the cut-off was the ATP Rankings on 10 May 2010.

The remaining 24 spots are broken into 2 categories: wild card entrants (WC) and qualifiers (Q). There are 8 wild cards and 16 spots for qualifiers. The Gentlemen’s qualifying event is a mini knock out tournament consisting of 128 players, which is 32 players more than the Ladies event.Only 16 players who each win 3 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw. Qualifying is held from Monday 14 June through to Thursday 17 June.

The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) has announced who 5 of the 8 main draw singles wild cards have been awarded to thus far. The LTA chose the following players whose rankings as at the above mentioned cut off date are in brackets next to their names – Kei Nishikori (No.106), Teimuraz Gabashvili (No.115), Nicolas Keifer (No.154), Jamie Baker (No.268) and Andrey Kuznetsov  (No.277).

Another 2 wild cards will go to both finalists in the British men’s wild card play offs that are currently being held at the AELTC. These play offs involve 16 British men in a knockout format, which means that the 2 men who are able to win 3 consecutive matches, will be the players who earn the wild cards. Once these are decided and the further 1 wild card that remains, are announced we will update them here.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Wimbledon Championships for both the Gentlemen’s and Ladies events. Click this link for more details -> Wimbledon 2010: June 14-July 4.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2010


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Ubet8SPN

Comments are closed.