Wimbledon 2010 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 8th Major Tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour is Wimbledon. “The Championships” as Wimbledon is commonly called, are held in the London suburb of Wimbledon in the United Kingdom at The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC).

The 3rd Grand Slam event of the year begins on Monday 14 June for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Ladies Singles Final will be played on Saturday 3 July. In this post we will cover how the WTA Tour ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Ladies Singles Draw.

The total financial commitment for the 2010 Wimbledon tournament is 13,725,000 pounds sterling (£) with the total prize money for the women’s singles event being £4,820,000. The winner of the Ladies Singles Final at Wimbledon takes home £1 million, which is an increase of £150,000 from last year.

Pictured above is the 2009 Wimbledon Ladies singles runner-up Venus Williams preparing to play a forehand drive. The 1.85m Venus has made the Ladies final 8 times in the past 10 years, winning 5 titles – 2000, 2001, 2005, 2007 & 2008 and being a runner-up on 3 occasions 2002, 2003 & 2009.

The 29-year-old American who turns 30 on June 17, will be doing her absolute best to make to out perform her sister this year. Serena Williams was the player who defeated Venus in all 3 Wimbledon finals that Venus has lost. This year Venus will be going for her 6th Wimbledon title and goes in to the event with her highest ranking in over 7 years – World No.2.

The WTA ranking points and prize money (in pounds) for the women’s tournament is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + £1,000,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + £500,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + £250,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + £140,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + £62,500;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + £31,250;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + £18,750;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + £11,250.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn £1,750 and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn £3,000 and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn £7,000 and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying. Which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session starting at 12noon on courts 2 to 19 for the 1st 8 days of play. Centre Court and Court No.1 commence everyday of the tournament at 1pm except for both the Ladies and Gentlemen’s singles final. which begin at 2pm. There are no night sessions.

The 1st four days of the tournament feature the qualifying event. Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the Ladies Singles event at Wimbledon is:

  • Monday 14 June: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Tuesday 15 June: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Wednesday 16 June: Qualifying 2nd round;
  • Thursday 17 June: Qualifying 3rd round;
  • Monday 21 June: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Tuesday 22 June: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Wednesday 23 June: 2nd round;
  • Thursday 24 June: 2nd round;
  • Friday 25 June: 3rd round;
  • Saturday 26 June: 3rd round;
  • Sunday 27 June: No play is scheduled at all;
  • Monday 28 June: 4th round (round of 16);
  • Tuesday 29 June: Ladies Quarter Finals;
  • Wednesday 30 June: No Ladies matches today;
  • Thursday 1 July: Ladies Semi Finals from 2pm;
  • Friday 2 July: No Ladies matches today; and
  • Saturday 3 July: Ladies Singles Final at 2pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about Wimbledon for both the men’s and women’s events. Click this link for more details -> Wimbledon 2010 June 14-July 4.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: Jon Van Tango


  1. I found your site today and really liked it. I bookmarked it and will be back to check it out some more later!

  2. found your site today and really liked it.. i bookmarked it and will be back to check it out some more later

Comments are closed.