Wimbledon 2010 Women’s Singles

Creative Commons Licensephoto credit:left-hand

The Wimbledon Championships are held at The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC), which is in the London suburb of Wimbledon in the United Kingdom. Wimbledon is also commonly referred to as “The Championships” and it is the 3rd Grand Slam tournament of the year.

The Wimbledon 2010 event begins on Monday 14 June for the women’s event with the qualifying draw. The qualifying tournament is NOT held at the AELTC it is held at the Bank of England Sports Ground at Roehampton.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam tournament that does NOT refer to the women as women. Women are referred to as Ladies, therefore the Women’s Singles event is called the Ladies Singles. The Ladies main draw singles matches at the AELTC begin on Monday 21 June and run for 12 days. The Ladies Singles Final is held on Saturday 3 June at 2pm local time in London.

The draw for the Ladies qualifying singles draw will be available on Sunday 13 June. The Ladies singles main draw is being conducted at 10am on Friday 18 June and as soon as the draws are available we will post them in here our coverage of the 2010 Wimbledon singles events.

Last year No.2 seed Serena Williams won the Wimbledon Ladies Singles Championship for the 3rd time in her career. Serena who is pictured above, defeated No.3 seed Venus Williams 7-6 (7-3), 6-2 in 1 hour and 27 minutes to earn 2000 WTA ranking points whilst Venus collected 1400 points.

The 2009 Wimbledon semi finals featured all 4 of the top 4 seeds. No.4 seed Elena Dementieva lost to Serena in the match of the tournament 8-6 in the deciding set after 2 hours and 49 minutes. No.1 seed Dinara Safina was soundly beaten by Venus 6-1 6-0 in the 2nd semi final. The quarter finalists were Francesca Schiavone, Sabine Lisicki, No.8 seed Victoria Azarenka and No.11 seed Agnieszka Radwanska.

In a Grand Slam tournament there are 128 players in the main draw. There are 32 seeded players in a Grand Slam event. This year the seeding will be announced on Wednesday 16 June at 12noon and it is expected that they will be based on the WTA Tour rankings as at 14 June 2010. 108 of the 128 main draw spots are allocated to direct acceptances. The direct acceptances are the highest 108 ranked players on the cut-off date. This year the cut-off was the WTA Rankings on 10 May 2010.

The remaining 20 spots are broken into 2 categories: wild card entrants (WC) and qualifiers (Q). There are 8 wild cards and 12 spots for qualifiers. The Ladies qualifying event is a mini knock out tournament consisting of 96 players. Only 12 players who each win 3 matches in a row will “qualify” for the main draw. Qualifying is held from Monday 14 June through to Thursday 17 June.

The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) has announced who 4 of the 8 main draw singles wild cards have been awarded to thus far. The LTA chose the following 4 British players whose rankings as at the above mentioned cut off date are in brackets next to their names – Katie O’brien (No.124), Melanie South (No.215), Laura Robson (no.257) and Heather Watson (No.337).

Another 2 wild cards will go to both finalists in the British women’s wild card play offs that are currently being held at the AELTC. These plays offs involve 16 British women in a knockout format, which means that the 2 women who are able to win 3 consecutive matches, will be the players who earn the wild cards. Once these are decided and the further 2 remaining wild cards are announced we will update them here.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for further information about the Wimbledon Championships for both the Gentlemen’s and Ladies events. Click this link for more details -> Wimbledon 2010: June 14-July 4.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2010