Wimbledon 2011 Women’s Schedule of Play

The 2011 Wimbledon Championships are held in the London suburb of Wimbledon in the United Kingdom at The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC). Wimbledon is also known as “The Championships” and is the 8th of the “BIG 14″ tournaments for the women’s professional tennis tour each year.

In this post we will cover how the WTA ranking points and prize money are allocated, and what the schedule of play is for the Ladies Singles Draw. The third Grand Slam tournament of each year begins on Monday 13 June for the women’s event with the qualifying draw and the Ladies Singles Final will be played on Saturday 2 July. The 1st round matches of the main draw begin on Monday 20 June.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage.

The total financial commitment is 14,600,000 pounds sterling (£) with the total prize money for the Women’s Singles event being £5,230,000. The winner of the Ladies Singles Final at Wimbledon takes home £1.1 million, which is an increase of £100,000 from last year. To watch the tennis in Singapore just add 7 hours to the times listed below, as all times listed below are local times in London.

Pictured above is the 2010 Wimbledon Ladies singles champion Serena Williams just prior to making contact with the ball during her service motion in the 2010 Wimbledon semi final. The 1.75m Serena has made the Wimbledon Final 6 times in the past 9 years winning 4 titles: 2002-2003 & 2009-2010 and was runner-up in 2004 to Maria Sharapova and in 2008 to Venus Williams.

The 29-year-old American who turns 30 on September 26 this year has been out injured for almost a full 12 months. The former World No.1 and 13-time Grand Slam singles champion is playing her first tournament since the 2010 Wimbledon final at the AEGON International at Eastbourne in Great Britain on grass beginning tomorrow: 13 June. The shorter points and greater value for aggressive shots that you are afforded on grass will suit Serena’s comeback and very short preparation for her title defence.

At Wimbledon the women’s WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + £1,100,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + £550,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + £275,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + £137,500;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + £68,750;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + £34,375;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + £20,125;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + £11,500.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn £1,750 and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn £3,000 and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn £7,000 and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their first match only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. Therefore a qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying. Which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The matches each day are played in a day session starting at 12noon on courts 2 to 19 for the first 8 days of play. Centre Court and Court No.1 commence every day of the tournament at 1pm except for both the Ladies and Gentlemen’s singles final, which begin at 2pm. There are no night sessions.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the Ladies Singles event at Wimbledon is:

  • Monday 13 June: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Tuesday 14 June: Qualifying 1st round;
  • Wednesday 15 June: Qualifying 2nd round;
  • Thursday 16 June: Qualifying 3rd round;
  • Monday 20 June: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Tuesday 21 June: Main Draw 1st round;
  • Wednesday 22 June: 2nd round;
  • Thursday 23 June: 2nd round;
  • Friday 24 June: 3rd round;
  • Saturday 25 June: 3rd round;
  • Sunday 26 June: No play is scheduled at all;
  • Monday 27 June: 4th round (round of 16);
  • Tuesday 28 June: Ladies Quarter Finals;
  • Wednesday 29 June: No Ladies matches today;
  • Thursday 30 June: Ladies Semi Finals from 2pm;
  • Friday 1 July: No Ladies matches today; and
  • Saturday 2 July: Ladies Singles Final at 2pm.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about Wimbledon 2011: June 13-July 3.

© OnCourtAdvantage.com 2011

Creative Commons License photo credit: left-hand