ATP Tour Finals 2011 Schedule of Play

In tennis the 2011 ATP Tour Finals in London, England is the 14th and final Major Tournament for the men’s professional tennis tour is the end of year. This tournament is the pinnacle of the tennis calendar, with all events this year building to this showdown between the world’s best male players. To watch the tennis in Singapore add 8 hours to the local London times listed below.

In no other tournament are you required to beat at least 4 if not 5 of the world’s Top 8 ranked players to win the title! Only the Top 8 best performed players for the 2011 season qualify to play-off in this tournament. The ATP Tour Finals begin as a round robin and climaxes with semi finals and a final. The ATP Tour Finals run from Sunday 20 November through to Men’s Singles Final Day on Sunday 27 November.

Click this link for further details about the ATP Tour Finals-> 2011 Barclays ATP World Tour Finals London.

In this post how the ATP Tour ranking points, prize money are allocated and what the schedule of play is will be covered. The total financial commitment for the 2011 ATP Tour Finals is 5,070,000 pounds sterling (£), with the total prize money being £ 2,227,500. Due to title sponsorship naming rights the official name is the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

The ATP Tour Finals have been held since 1970 and this year is the third year that it will be held at the O2 Arena in London on indoor hard courts. The centre court can seat 23,000 spectators. During this season-ending tournament a ceremony will be held to honour whoever becomes the end of year World No.1. The player who finishes the year with the No.1 ranking is crowned the 2011 ATP Tour World Champion.

Last year Roger FEDERER won the ATP Tour year-end Championship Final by defeating Rafael Nadal, who won 3 of the 4 Grand Slam singles titles in 2010 6-3, 3-6, 6-1 in the final. The 30-year-old Federer is pictured above JUST after making contact with the ball with this forehand drive during the 2011 Monte Carlo Open Masters 1000 tournament.

The 16-time Grand Slam singles champion from Switzerland completed an amazing 5 straight wins against Top 8 players to truly deserve to be the 2010 champion. The 1.85m Federer defeated Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Robin Soderling and David Ferrer to join Ivan Lendl and Pete Sampras as the only players to win the year-end championships 5 times.

The event begins in a round robin format with two groups of 4 players. As soon as the groups are announced we will update you right here on OnCourt Advantage. To date four of the Top 8 players for 2011 have been confirmed as having qualified for the ATP Tour Finals. First to qualify was Novak DJOKOVIC, 2nd was Rafael NADAL and 3rd Roger FEDERER who has now qualified for these year-end finals for 10 straight years. Andy MURRAY was the fourth to qualify, whilst the remaining four spots are to be decided by the all-important remaining major tournaments – the Shanghai Open and the Paris Open.

In the first 6 days of this 8-day tournament each of the 8 men will play against all 3 members of his group. Throughout the round robin matches the world’s best men try to achieve a place in the semi-finals by finishing in the Top 2 spots in their own group. On Day 7 the semi-finals are held where the players who finish at No.1 in their group play the player who finishes No.2 in the other group.

The ATP ranking points and prize money (in US dollars) is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 1,500 points + $1,630,000 (if undefeated) and 1,300 points if he loses one match;
  2. The runner-up earns an extra 400 points added to how many matches he won + $770,000 if the only match he loses is the final;
  3. Any player who wins 3 matches earns 600 points + $360,000;
  4. Any player other than the finalists who wins 2 matches earns 400 points + $360,000;
  5. Any player other than the finalists who wins 1 match earns 200 points + $200,000;
  6. Any player who loses all 3 matches DOES NOT earn any points + $120,000; and
  7. A player who is called in as an alternate to replace an injured player DOES NOT earn any points if he LOSES his match.

In summary, the 8 players including any alternate players only earn points if they win a match. For each round robin match won the player earns 200 ATP ranking points. The runner-up earns 400 points for winning his semi final match, whereas the winner earns 400 points for winning his semi final match but strangely only earns a further 100 points more than the runner-up for winning the whole tournament! If a player is undefeated he just gets the extra 200 points for winning a 5th straight match.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update you of any changes in later posts.

The schedule of play for the 2011 ATP Tour Finals singles event is:

  • Sunday 20 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Monday 21 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Tuesday 22 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Wednesday 23 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Thursday 24 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Friday 25 November: 2 Round Robin matches at 2pm then 8pm;
  • Saturday 26 November: Men’s 1st Semi Final at 2pm then 2nd Semi Final at 8pm; and
  • Sunday 27 November: Men’s Singles Final at 5:30pm.

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: Beth Wilson

1 Comment

  1. So when is the draw for the match opponents?? I have tickets for Friday night matches. Who will I be watching??

Comments are closed.